The University Record, February 8, 1993

Advisory group named to help in search for nursing dean

A nine-member advisory committee has been appointed by Provost Gilbert R. Whitaker Jr. to identify candidates for dean of the School of Nursing. Dean Rhetaugh G. Dumas will retire from the deanship and join the faculty effective Aug. 31.

In a letter to School of Nursing faculty in early December, Whitaker noted that the search would be national in scope, but “not to the exclusion of internal candidates.” He hopes to have a new dean in place Sept. 1.

In that letter, the provost also solicited the faculty’s assistance in three areas:

—Identifying possible candidates for the advisory committee.

—Sharing perceptions of the key issues facing the School in the next five to 10 years.

—Identifying possible candidates for the deanship.

He noted that the last two areas “will provide useful information to the search advisory committee as it seeks to identify potential candidates for the dean’s position.”

Saying the School “has enjoyed excellent progress under the fine leadership of Dean Dumas,” Whitaker added that he looks forward “to working with you to find a leader who will continue a successful future for the school.”

The committee is chaired by Nola J. Pender, professor of nursing and director, Center for Nursing Research.

Members are: Dianne J. Christopherson, graduate student; Teddy E. Dielman, professor of health behavior and health education and of postgraduate medicine and health professions education; Robert H. Hayashi, the J. Robert Willson Professor Emeritus of Obstetrics;

Beverly Jones, assistant dean for clinical affairs, School of Nursing, and chief of nursing affairs, Office of the Executive Director, University Hospitals; Katherine R. Jones, associate professor of nursing and of health services management and policy;

Kenyatta A. Paige, senior nursing student; Nancy E. Reame, professor of nursing and research scientist, Reproductive Sciences Program; and Carolyn M. Sampselle, associate professor of nursing.

Staff support will be provided by Patricia DuCharme of the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Kay Dawson, assistant to the provost, will serve as liaison to the provost’s office.