The University Record, July 6, 1993

Engineering honors 5 staff members for excellent service

By Jeffrey Mortimer
College of Engineering

Five staff members at the College of Engineering received awards for excellent service at a reception hosted by Dean Peter M. Banks in the atrium of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Building (EECS) on May 27.

This marked the second year in a row that the College bestowed Excellence in Staff Service Awards on non-faculty employees. Winners were selected by an eight-member Staff Service Awards Committee from nominations submitted by faculty, staff and students. Each winner received a $1,000 cash prize, a certificate, and the addition of his or her name to a plaque on permanent display in the EECS Atrium. There were 33 nominees this year.

Those honored were Pamela G. Derry, student services assistant, Department of Nuclear Engineering; Robert G. Donaldson, technical services supervisor, Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering; Thomas L. Griffin, engineering technician, Department of Aerospace Engineering; Pablo P. LaValle, engineer, Department of Chemical Engineering; and Jamie Rutledge, academic secretary, Engineering Administration.

Two features of this year’s nominating process stand out, Banks said. “First, a large number of students were either principal nominators or submitted supplemental letters of support, an indication that our staff is truly treating our students as customers. Second, we received a number of supporting letters from outside the College, evidence that we are paying good attention to our external customers as well.”

Members of the Staff Service Awards Committee were Lynn Buege, mechanical engineering; Betty Cummings, electrical engineering and computer science; Karen Liska, electrical engineering and computer science; Jerry McCarty, engineering administration; Marti Moon, atmospheric, oceanic and space sciences; Judith Pitney, engineering administration; Pat Shaneyfelt, engineering administration; and Virginia Wait, electrical engineering and computer science.

Buege, Cummings, Liska, McCarty, and Moon were 1992 Excellence in Staff Service Award winners.