The University Record, May 10, 1993

Eight elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Eight U-M faculty members recently were elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The fellows are elected in recognition of their distinguished contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts.

Newly elected members are:

—President James J. Duderstadt, professor of nuclear engineering.

—Bruce W. Frier, professor of classics and of law.

—Donald R. Kinder, professor of political science and of psychology and research scientist, Center for Political Studies.

—Ludwig Koenen, the Herbert C. Youtie Professor of Papyrology and chair, Department of Classical Studies.

—Richard O. Lempert, the Francis A. Allen Collegiate Professor of Law and professor of sociology.

—Howard Schuman, professor and chair of the Department of Sociology and research scientist, Survey Research Center.

—A. W. Brian Simpson, the Charles F. and Edith J. Clyne Professor of Law.

—Barbara B. Smuts, associate professor of psychology and of anthropology and research scientist, Center for Human Growth and Development.

They join 44 current and emeritus U-M faculty as Academy fellows.

The Academy conducts scholarly projects, studies and publications that address issues of public interest, and also is active in studies of international security policy and in international policy research.

Academy Fellow John H. D’Arms said the organization, founded in 1780 by John Adams and others, now has about 3,800 members in the United States and some honorary international members.

D’Arms, dean of the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies and vice provost for academic affairs, said the

U-M has had very good representation among new members of the Academy for the past two years. Eight were elected in 1992. Academy membership is one of the most distinguished memberships that an academician can reach, D’Arms noted.

Fellows must be nominated and elected by members. The U-M’s members to date are concentrated in the social sciences, law and humanities. Membership also is open to academics in the fields of mathematics and physical sciences and the biological sciences.

Other universities with high representation among this year’s new fellows are Harvard and the University of California, Berkeley, each with 12; the University of Chicago, eight; Columbia University, seven; Princeton, Stanford and Wisconsin, each with six; Yale, five; Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the University of Washington, each with four.