The University Record, October 5, 1992


Sports medicine organization cites Wojtys’ paper

Edward Wojtys, associate professor, Department of Surgery, and Laura Huston received the 1992 O’Donoghue Sports Injury Research Award from the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine for their paper “Neuromuscular Performance in Normal and Anterior Cruciate Deficient Lower Extremities.” The award recognizes outstanding clinical or laboratory research efforts applicable to the understanding, care or prevention of injuries.

Slemrod to edit journal

Joel B. Slemrod, professor of business economics and public policy, has been named editor of The National Tax Journal. The publication is considered to be the top tax journal in the nation. Published quarterly, it has a circulation of 3,500.

NACUBO honors Brinkerhoff

James F. Brinkerhoff, professor emeritus of business administration and vice president and chief financial officer emeritus, has received the Distinguished Business Officer Award from the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO). The lifetime award recognizes distinguished contributions to business and financial management education and is the organization’s highest honor.

Harary receives honorary degree

Frank Harary, professor emeritus of mathematics, has been awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by the University of Exeter, Devon, England “for his applications of graph theoretic models not only to computer science, but also to anthropology, psychology, chemistry and mechanical engineering, as well as his many papers and books in the mathematical literature.”

Postal Service honors Bromage

Mary C. Bromage, professor emerita of written communication, has received a special award for her “valuable contributions” from the U.S. Postal Inspection Service. Bromage teaches written communication for business firms and government agencies.

Hanss chairs computer committee

Theodore A. Hanss Jr., assistant director of the Center for Information Technology Integration, has been named chair of the Open Software Foundation (OSF) End User Steering Committee in Cambridge, Mass. The committee directs the End User Forum, an arena for users of computers, applications and services to communicate their open systems requirements to the OSF community.

Tai’s paper honored

C.T. Tai, professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer science, will receive the Best Transactions Paper Award for “A Systematic Treatment of Vector Analysis,” which was published in the May 1991 issue of Transactions on Education. The award will be presented at the Frontiers in Education 1992 Conference in November. Nenghang Fang, a visiting scholar from China, co-authored the paper.

Bertrand Russell Society honors Dearborn’s Leithauser

Gladys G. Leithauser, lecturer in English and rhetoric at U-M-Dearborn, has received the annual Bertrand Russell Society Award for her work as chair of the group’s Annual Book Award Committee.

Gold Medal Award goes to Griffith

John R. Griffith, the Andrew Pattulio Professor of Health Services Management and Policy, recently received the Gold Medal Award for Excellence and Leadership from the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Gillespie authors book

Thomas D. Gillespie, research scientist at the U-M Transportation Research Institute, is the author of Fundamentals of Vehicle Dynamics, recently published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. The book is intended as a text or reference work and includes engineering principles and practical explanations of how automotive vehicles accelerate, brake, turn and ride.

Pavlidis receives JSPS Fellowship

Dimitris Pavlidis, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been awarded the Japan Society for Promotion of Science (JSPS) Fellowship for Senior Scientists/Professors by the Japanese government. The fellowship is designed to promote international cooperation and mutual understanding in scientific research.

Goldstein receives Hudson Award

Irwin J. Goldstein, professor of biological chemistry and associate dean for research and graduate studies, Medical School, has been named recipient of the 1993 C.S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry. Administered by an international committee of the American Chemical Society, the award recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of carbohydrate chemistry and biochemistry. Goldstein was cited for his studies of cell surface carbohydrates and carbohydrate binding proteins.

Bahti’s book published

Timothy Bahti, associate professor of Germanic languages and literatures in the Program in Comparative Literature, is the author of Allegories of History: Literary Historiography after Hegal, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Albright receives ASCAP Award

William H. Albright, professor of music, has received the 1992–93 ASCAP Award from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). The award is “based on the unique prestige value of each writer’s catalog of original compositions.” Albright teaches music composition and performs and records organ music from the 16th century to the present.