The University Record, September 21, 1992


William Uttal authors book

William R. Uttal, professor emeritus of psychology, is the author of The Swimmer: An Integrated Computational Model of a Perceptual-Motor System, published in the Scientific Psychology Series by Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc. Uttal is professor of engineering at Arizona State University.

Donahue recognized for student advising

Craig J. Donahue, associate professor of chemistry, U-M-Dearborn, has been recognized for his support of students as the recipient of the Distinguished Advisory Award, which is presented annually to recognize a faculty member’s impact on campus student life, support of student activities and organizations, and ability to advise and counsel students.

Luskin earns certified property manager designation

Eric D. Luskin, director of Family Housing, has been designated a certified property manager by the Institute of Real Estate Management, an affiliate of the National Association of Realtors. U-M Family Housing is the second largest university-owned apartment system in the United States.

Harary awarded third honorary doctorate

Frank Harary, professor emeritus of mathematics and faculty associate emeritus of the Institute for Social Research, has been awarded his third honorary doctorate, D.Sc. in computer science, by the University of Exeter, England. His previous honorary doctorates were in mathematics at Aberdeen, Scotland, and in social sciences at Lund, Sweden. He now is in the New Mexico State University computer science department.

Christenson wins award for magazine article

James E. Christenson, director of Plant Operations, won the sixth annual Rex Dillow Award for Outstanding Article in Facilities Manager, published quarterly by the Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers.

Christenson wrote “Maintenance Management for the 1990s,” which appeared in the spring 1991 issue. The article addresses organization management and the empowerment of employees.

ASA honors McKeachie

Wilbert J. McKeachie, professor of psychology and research scientist at the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching, will receive the American Psychological Association (APA) Centennial Award for Sustained Contribution to the Education Directorate.

McKeachie was president of the APA in 1975–76 and has been a member of the board of directors for nearly two decades. In 1987 he received the association’s award for distinguished career contributions to education and training in psychology.

Georgopoulos writes book

Basil G. Georgopoulos, professor emeritus of psychology, and Luther Christman, dean emeritus of the School of Nursing, Rush University, Chicago, are authors of a new book titled Effects of Clinical Nursing Specialization: A Controlled Organizational Experiment, published by Edwin Mellen Press.

The health care experiment they conducted in 1965 at a large teaching hospital showed that the quality of care improved greatly when head nurses were replaced with clinical nurse specialists—nurses with advanced clinical training and master’s degrees in a particular clinical specialty.

U-M Hospitals wins Quality Cup Competition

Reducing waiting time for patients from hours to minutes earned U-M Hospitals a place among four finalists in the Rochester Institute of Technology/USA Today Quality Cup Competition. The national award honors enterprising teams or individuals who have made significant contributions to the improvement of products or services in an organization.

De Young awarded Fulbright to lecture in Costa Rica

Glenn W. De Young Jr., associate professor of dance, has been awarded a Fulbright grant to lecture and conduct research in Costa Rica. De Young has danced with the companies of Al Huang, Bella Lewitzky, Rudy Perez, Elizabeth Keen and Cliff Keuter.

Berkove going to Korea on Fulbright grant

Lawrence I. Berkove, professor of English and American literature, U-M-Dearborn, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar Grant.

Berkove will lecture in Korea, primarily on the works of Mark Twain, as well as authors Ambrose Bierce, Dan De Quille and Jack London.