The University Record, April 4, 1994

Safety oversight group seeks non-union staff member

The Public Safety Oversight Committee, required under Public Act No. 120, is comprised of two staff members, two students and two faculty members nominated and elected by their peers. The committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievances against any public safety officer deputized by the University.

The staff member positions on the committee are for a two-year term. Members are elected through a mailed ballot. One staff member is elected in odd-numbered years by staff members represented by a union. The other is elected in even-numbered years by staff not represented by a union.

The staff member elected this year will represent non-union staff members.

Staff members not represented by unions may nominate themselves or agree to be nominated. In the event there are more than six nominees, Service Center Management Advisory Groups will provide a balanced slate of six candidates from the various job families on a ballot sent to all non-union staff members from the allied health, office, professional/administrative and technical job groups.

Nominations can be made on the accompanying form, which should be submitted to Human Resources & Affirmative Action Administration, 6066 Fleming Administration Building, by April 15, enabling election and appointment of the new person by July 1.