The University Record, April 18, 1994

Business School seeks nominations for Staff Recognition Awards

April 30 is the deadline for nominating School of Business Administration staff for the School’s Staff Recognition Program. The awards program will be at 10 a.m. June 9 in Hale Auditorium.

The program, launched in fall 1993, was developed at the request of the School’s Quality Council to recognize the achievements and accomplishments of staff members. Award winners receive a certificate and $500 and have their name engraved on a publicly displayed plaque.

Staff can be nominated by any Business School staff, faculty, student or visitor. Forms and drop boxes are located on the second floor outside the Mail Room, Kresge Business Library; at the entrance to the Paton Accounting Center, on the first floor of the Executive Education Center, and on the basement level outside Document Processing. Unit directors, deans, faculty, students and members of the selection committee are ineligible for awards.

Through a blind selection process, a committee of peer staff reviews recommendations by number, rather than by name, and selects up to six awardees twice per year. Selection criteria include different aspects of performance and innovation, according to Edward P. Dagnes, financial analyst and a member of the Staff Recognition Program Committee.

Nominees who are not selected for awards can be nominated again. There is no limit to the number of nominations that can be submitted for any one individual. Award winners are ineligible for awards the following year.

For information, contact a member of the Staff Recognition Program Committee. They are: Nancy Barnett, Stacey Brooks, Mary Ceccanese, Dagnes, Joan Dombrowski, Lisa Duncan, Debbie Lentz, Elsie Orb, Carol Sobecki, Melinda Stuber, Joan Walker and Jackie Williams.