The University Record, February 28, 1994


Editor’s Note: The Board of Regents took action on the following at their February meeting.

Several renovation projects approved

The following building renovation projects were approved:

Parking: This year’s maintenance program for parking services will include the final stage of the Church Street Parking Structure renovation.

In addition, repair and replacement of the fire protection system in the Fletcher Street Parking Structure will be accomplished. Projects for rebuilding, routine grading, patching and resurfacing miscellaneous parking lots also are scheduled. Several safety and security initiatives, including new and improved lighting, stairwell windows, and emergency phones, will also be undertaken. The project’s budget is estimated to total $5,250,000.

Michigan Stadium: With completion of phases I, II and III of the multiple repair and maintenance program for the Michigan Stadium, the University will proceed with Phase IV, which involves structural repairs to the concourse slab as well as some seating replacement at an estimated cost of $750,000. The project will be completed before the 1994 football season.

Classrooms and auditoria: This year’s classroom renovation program will concentrate on upgrading Univer-sity classrooms and instructional auditoria in miscellaneous buildings. First priority will be given to upgrading auditoria in the School of Education Building, Lorch Hall and the Cooley Building, as well as classrooms in the Dana Building. Classrooms will also be constructed in Mason Hall once the Department of Psychology relocates to the East Engineering Building. The projects are estimated to cost $1,643,000 and will be accomplished during the summer months.

11 administrative appointments approved

Administrative appointments approved include:

John R. Chamberlin, professor of political science and public policy, reappointed LS&A associate dean for academic appointments, effective July 1.

Michael M. Martin, professor of biology, reappointed LS&A associate dean for undergraduate education and long-range planning, for another year, effective July 1.

Thomas E. Toon, associate professor of English and of linguistics, reappointed director of the Program in Linguistics for another year, effective July 1.

Sharon C. Herbert, professor of classical archaeology, will serve as chair of the Department of Classical Studies, effective Jan. 1, 1995–Aug. 31, 1999.

David A. Lam, associate professor of economics, will direct the Population Studies Center for a three-year term, effective July 1.

Donald J. Munro, professor of philosophy and of Chinese, will chair the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures for a one-year term beginning July 1. He is now interim chair.

Margaret Cool Root, professor of classical and Near Eastern art and archaeology, will chair the Department of History of Art for a five-year term beginning Aug. 1.

B. Alan Taylor, professor of mathematics, will chair the Department of Mathematics for a three-year term beginning Aug. 1.

Martha J. Vicinus, professor of English, of women’s studies and of history, will chair the Department of English Language and Literature for a five-year term beginning Sept. 1.

Martha L. Ludwig, professor of biological chemistry, will be acting chair of the Biophysics Research Division, effective Jan. 1–June 30.

Katherine Kurtz, LS&A major gift officer, will be LS&A assistant dean for development and external relations, effective Jan. 1, 1994.

More than $15.9 million in gifts received

The Regents accepted $15,955,214 in gifts received during January, including $11,640,390 from individuals, $1,471,124 from corporations, $2,312,994 from foundations, and $530,706 from associations and others.

Professorships will honor distinguished faculty

Twenty-two additional unendowed School/College Professorships to honor distinguished faculty have been established.

“The School/College Professorship continues to be an important means of honoring distinguished faculty and it has contributed significantly to the University’s ability to retain some of its most prestigious faculty,” Provost Gilbert R. Whitaker Jr. said.

The additional School/College Professorships will be distributed among the schools and colleges by the provost in consultation with the deans. “Primary consideration will be given to the number of senior faculty in the various units when assigning these professorships,” Whitaker said. “Unlike the current group of 30 School/College Professorships, this additional group of 22 professorships will be funded from unit resources.”

The University now recognizes 30 distinguished senior faculty members by awarding School/College Professorships. Twenty-five of these awards were established in 1973 and five more in 1981. They are allocated as follows: 10 to LS&A; two each to the Medical School, College of Engineering and Law School; and one each to the remaining schools and colleges on the Ann Arbor campus, U-M-Dearborn and U-M-Flint. Holders receive an annual $3,000 stipend funded from an unrestricted endowment fund.

School/College Professorships are named for deceased or retired faculty members.