The University Record, January 17, 1994


Bush named to journalism committee

Joan T. Bush, lecturer in communication at U-M-Dearborn, has been named to the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame Committee. The Hall of Fame, established in 1952, “recognizes reporters, editors, publishers, owners, photographers, broadcasters and educators who have made outstanding contributions to the profession.”

Wu wins Brumbaugh Award

C.F. Jeff Wu, professor of statistics and of industrial and operations engineering, has won the 1992 American Society for Quality Control (ASQC) Brumbaugh Award for “making the greatest contribution to the development of industrial applications of quality control among the publications of ASQC.”

His paper, “Analysis of Designed Experiments with Complex Aliasing,” which appeared in the July 1992 issue of Journal of Quality Technology, was co-authored with Michael Hamada of the University of Waterloo.

Therrien will serve as member of NIH study section

Barbara Therrien, associate professor of nursing, will serve as a member of the Nursing Research Study Section, Division of Research Grants, National Institutes of Health (NIH), October 1993–June 1997.

Study sections review grant applications to NIH, make recommendations to NIH national advisory councils or boards, and survey the status of research in their fields.

Buttenheim elected president

Margaret C. Buttenheim, clinical psychologist at the Center for the Child and Family, is the 1995 president-elect of the Women and Psychoanalysis section in the Division of Psychoanalysis, American Psychological Association. The section focuses on the study of psychoanalysis and gender.

Lichter elected member of international group

Paul R. Lichter, the F. Bruce Fralick Professor of Ophthalmology and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology, has been elected a member of the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis. Membership is considered one of the highest honors bestowed upon a physician in the specialty of ophthalmology and is awarded to only 50 of the most renowned ophthalmologists in the world.

Snyder inducted into the Safety and Health Hall of Fame

Richard G. Snyder, professor emeritus of anthropology, research scientist emeritus and first director of the NASA Center of Excellence in Man-Vehicle Systems at the U-M, has been inducted into the Safety and Health Hall of Fame International, class of 1993.

Snyder’s research focused on protection of the occupant in crash environments and included several thousand aircraft crash investigations. He studied all aspects of human tolerance impact research and was the first to conduct research on restraint protection of the air bag systems using human surrogates.

ASCE honors Roman Hryciw

Roman D. Hryciw, associate professor of civil engineering, received the Arthur Casagrande Professional Development Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).

The award recognizes outstanding accomplishments of geotechnical engineers under age 35. Hryciw was cited for his pioneering research contributions in geotechnical engineering.

Hu selected Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer

Shixin Hu, assistant research scientist, mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, was selected by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers as an Earl W. Walker Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer of 1993.

Hu’s research includes time series analysis, dynamic system identification, statistical quality control and production engineering, with an emphasis on automobile manufacturing.