The University Record, January 31, 1994


Burt serving as member of NIH study section

Brian A. Burt, professor of dental public health and chair of the Department of Community Health Programs, the School of Public Health, will serve as a member of the Oral Biology and Medicine Study Section, Subcommittee I, Division of Research Grants, National Institutes of Health.

Lam named to study section

David A. Lam, associate professor of economics and research associate at the Population Studies Center, will serve as a member of the Social Sciences and Population Study Section, Division of Research Grants, National Institutes of Health.

Beacon Press publishes Behar’s book featuring double portrait

Translated Woman: Crossing the Border with Esperanza’s Story by Ruth Behar, associate professor of anthropology and of women’s studies, has been published by Beacon Press. In this double portrait, Behar records another woman’s life and uncovers some truths about her own.

Winful elected Fellow

Herbert G. Winful, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers “for contributions to the understanding of nonlinear optical instabilities in semiconductor laser arrays, periodic structures, and birefringent optical fibers.”

Kota wins robotics award

Sridhar Kota, associate professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, has received the National Applied Mechanisms and Robotics Conference’s George Wood Award recognizing “his contributions to the growth of the science of mechanisms and robotics.”

Nordman and Osborn elected AAAS Fellows

Christer E. Nordman, professor of chemistry, and June E. Osborn, professor of epidemiology and of pediatrics and communicable diseases, have been named Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science for “their efforts toward advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Goldstein chairs study section

Steven A. Goldstein, professor of surgery, Medical School assistant dean for research and graduate studies, and research scientist in the Institute of Gerontology, has been selected chair of the Orthopedic and Musculoskeletal Study Section, Division of Research Grants, Department of Health and Human Services.

Marans edits book about environmental simulation

Robert W. Marans, professor of architecture and urban planning and research scientist, Survey Research Center, is co-editor of and contributor to Environmental Simulation, Research and Policy Issues, recently published by Plenum Press. Other contributors include Colin W. Clipson, professor of architecture, and Rachel Kaplan, professor of natural resources and of psychology.