The University Record, June 6, 1994

Staff recognition awards program draws 200 nominees

More than 200 staff were nominated by peers, faculty and students for Staff Recognition Awards presented for the first time at the Workplace of the ’90s Conference May 24–25.

The winners are:

Katrina Ward Hope, basic science administrator in biological chemistry at the Medical School, who received the Distinguished Service Award;

Leah J. Long, administrative manager in the College of Arts, Sciences and Letters at the U-M-Dearborn, who won the Outstanding Leadership Award; and

The Building Services Lead Team, which received the Exemplary Team Award.

Co-workers who nominated Hope cited the many talents she exhibited when she was charged “with the administrative responsibilities for the Department of Biochemistry, and over to two to three years profoundly redirected the office to make it more efficient and responsive to the demands of a rapidly changing environment.”

Hope also was cited for her strengths of “cooperation, collegiality, fairness, diplomacy and caring” and for her high aspirations and teamwork.

Long has exhibited outstanding leadership for a number of years, according to her nominators, who cited her involvement in the formation of the Staff Senate and election as the group’s first chair.

Long has been responsible for connecting the College through human services agencies with needy families during the holidays. She also was instrumental in organizing volunteer service projects as part of the U-M-Dearborn’s celebration of Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday.

The Building Services Lead Team was recognized for its creativity in developing new and innovative ways to improve work practices in Building Services, including the Summer Leave Program, which allows staff members to take advantage of leave without pay May through August.

The Building Services Lead Team also was recognized for its humanitarian efforts, including participation in Project NOAH to help flood victims in Mississippi; collecting and preparing Christmas baskets for the needy; and decorating and delivering pumpkins to children at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital.

Members of the Building Services Lead Team are Milan Bates, John Gleason, Terri Gleason, Nathan Norman, Linda Sen, Thomas Sullivan, Rudolf Volkmann, Bernadette Waters, Richard Williams and Sally York.