The University Record, April 17, 1995

CEW program, reception honor 33 women scholars

CEW program, reception honor 33 women scholars

From the Center for the Education of Women

The Center for the Education of Women (CEW) will award 30 Margaret Dow Towsley Scholarships for Women to U-M students on Tuesday (April 18). In addition, two Mary Malcomson Raphael Fellowships and the second Ann Frances Millman Scholarship will be presented. The program and reception will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Amphitheater, Rackham Building, with featured speaker Beverly Geltner, associate professor of education and leadership, Eastern Michigan University.

CEW Scholarships, established in 1970, honor the academic performance and potential, goals and commitment of women whose education has been interrupted. Awards are made possible by the Margaret Dow Towsley Scholarship Fund and generous donations by friends of the Center.

The 1995-96 CEW Margaret Dow Towsley Scholars include eight who are earning Ph.D degrees, 14 who are in master's degree programs, one in medicine, and seven undergraduates. Their degree fields include public policy, anatomy and cell biology, musicology, social work, American culture, natural resources, public health and Middle East studies, education, kinesiology, medical and biological illustration, Slavic languages and literature, nursing and medicine.

Mary Malcomson Raphael Fellowships recognize women of outstanding distinction in a social science or humanities graduate program who have demonstrated potential to make a significant contribution to society. The fellowship endowment was created by Margaret Earhart Smith in honor of her friend, a U-M graduate and social humanitarian.

Two Fellows were named this year: Reshela DuPuis, a Ph.D. student in American culture, is documenting the social and cultural complexity of sovereignty struggles in the Pacific islands, while Janise Hurtig, a Ph.D. student in anthropology, examines how schooling in Venezuela may perpetuate gender inequalities.

The Ann Frances Millman Scholarship, awarded for the second time this year, is for an undergraduate student chosen on the basis of need, merit and life circumstance. The scholarship is made possible by a five-year gift from Sheila Potiker to honor her mother, whose own college career was interrupted by an early marriage.

This year's scholar, Connie McBride, is pursuing a bachelor's degree in nursing at U-M-Flint, and, like Mrs. Millman, has a commitment to her career, family and community.

All those who would like to honor the scholars and fellows are cordially invited to the program and reception immediately following. For information, call 998-7080.