The University Record, April 24, 1995

Five journalists named Ted Scripps Environmental Journalism Fellows Five journalists named Ted Scripps Environmental Journalism Fellows

Five journalists named Ted Scripps Environmental Journalism Fellows

Three newspaper reporters and two television producers have been named 1995-96 Ted Scripps Environmental Journalism Fellows at the University of Michigan.

The Scripps program, which began in 1992, provides multidisciplinary training in environmental problems. The Fellows attend graduate classes and take part in weekly seminars with U-M faculty and professional journalists during their eight-month stay on campus.

The new Fellows, who begin study in September, are:

--Lani K. Asato, a Washington-based producer for the Tokyo Broadcasting System. In addition to reporting on environmental, medical and social issues, she has covered the White House, State Department and Congress. An Indiana University graduate, she is completing a degree in environmental and earth studies at Johns Hopkins University.

--Derek Fromson, editor of the El Paso-Juarez Business Journal/Norte Newspaper, a bilingual weekly published in El Paso, Texas. He previously created an environmental supplement for Reforma/El Norte Newspaper, Mexico City's newest Spanish language daily. He has degrees from the University of California-Berkeley and Cornell University.

--Matthew A. Weiser, a reporter for the Antioch (Calif.) Ledger Dispatch. A graduate of California Polytechnic State University, he has covered politics and local government, with an emphasis on the problems of urban growth, taxation and the environment.

--Carolyn T. White, who teaches at Franklin Pierce College and is completing a master's degree in environmental studies at the Antioch New England Graduate School. A University of Delaware graduate, she was a reporter and producer for Vision Cable of Pinellas in Clearwater, Fla.

--Kathryn B. Winiarski, environmental science columnist and municipal affairs reporter for Gannett Newspapers in New Rochelle, N.Y. She has degrees from Syracuse University and New York University, and is pursuing a master's in environmental studies at C.W. Post/Long Island University.

Selected by faculty from the Department of Communication and School of Natural Resources and Environment, and by a professional environmental reporter, the Fellows receive a $21,000 stipend to cover tuition and living expenses during their two semesters of study at U-M.

The program is supported by a grant from the Scripps Howard Foundation in Cincinnati. It was made possible by a gift from Nathan and Cindy Scripps Leising in honor of Mrs. Leising's father.

In addition to Mrs. Leising, the program's advisory board members include: David Hales, director of the Global Environmental Center at the U.S. Agency for International Development; Stuart Hart, director of the U-M Program in Corporate Environmental Management; Randy Lee Loftis, environment reporter for the Dallas Morning News; Paul McAuliffe, executive editor of the Evansville (Ind.) Courier; board chairperson Emily Smith, science editor of Business Week magazine; and Stephen Viederman, executive director of the Jessie Smith Noyes Foundation in New York City.