The University Record, January 30, 1995

Fogarty award winners not only from social sciences

By Diane Swanbrow
News and Information Services

Recipients of Center for Human Growth and Development minority international research awards were announced last Monday by center Director Betsy Lozoff.

The awards, funded by the Fogarty International Center of the National Institutes of Health, are designed to provide international training opportunities in biomedical and behavioral research for minority undergraduates, graduate students and faculty members.

Lozoff, professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, is co-principal investigator of the program with Vonnie C. McLoyd, professor of psychology and of Afroamerican studies and a research scientist at the center.

This year’s Fogarty trainees will be studying at several foreign research institutes: the University of Chile in Santiago, the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing, the Intituto Boliviano de Biologia de Altura in La Paz, Bolivia, and the Universities of Natal and Witswatersrand in South Africa.

“As we enter the second year of this exciting program, our awardees come from the Business School, engineering and medicine as well as the social sciences,” Lozoff said. “This is one more example of the Universitywide commitment to multiculturalism and to fostering the careers of minority faculty and students.”

The faculty awardees are Roberto Frisancho, professor of anthropology and research scientist, Center for Human Growth and Development; Warren Lockette, adjunct instructor in physiology; Oscar Barbarin, professor of psychology and of social work, and Jerome O. Nriagu, associate professor of environmental chemistry.

Graduate student awardees are Sara Busdiecker, Thomas Rodriguez, Marion Davis, Yang-chu Higgins, Nikeea Copeland, Camille Harper and Barbara Mims.

Undergraduate awardees are Isabel Friedenzohn, Tiffany Johnson, Beth Kapp, Tina Miranda, Maria Perez, Isha Rauchle, Nicolas Sanchez, Krista Swaninger, Gloria Wheatcroft, Cristina Krakusin, Crystal Lander, Dana McAllister, Lorri Pearson, Oreste Prada, Renee Rienecke, Rick Somarriba, Fato Cissoko, Simone Cromer, Carlos Portugal, Chandra Rhodes, Melita Robbins, Larissa Chism, Jameelah Gater, Ruqaiijah Yearby, Michelle Everett, John Navarra and Gregory White.