The University Record, October 3, 1994

Nominations sought for Business School staff awards

The deadline for nominating School of Business Administration staff for the School’s Staff Recognition Program is Oct. 31.

The program, launched in fall 1993, was developed at the request of the School’s Quality Council to recognize the achievements and accomplishments of staff members. Award winners receive a certificate and $500 and have their names engraved on a publicly displayed plaque.

Staff can be nominated by any Business School staff, faculty, student or visitor. Forms and drop boxes are located on the second floor outside the Mail Room, outside the Kresge Business Library, on the first floor of the Executive Education Center, and on the basement level outside Document Processing. Unit directors, deans, faculty, students and members of the selection committee are ineligible for awards.

Through a blind selection process, a committee of peer staff reviews recommendations by number rather than by name and selects up to six awardees twice per year. Selection criteria include different aspects of performance and innovation, according to Edward P. Dagnes, financial analyst and a member of the Staff Recognition Program Committee.

Nominees who are not selected for awards can be nominated again. Award winners are ineligible for awards the following year.

For information, contact a member of the Staff Recognition Program Committee. They are, in addition to Dagnes, Nancy Barnett, Mary Ceccanese, Joan Dombrowski, Lisa Duncan, Elsie Orb, Connie Schaffer, Diana Scheer, Carol Sobecki, Melinda Stuber, Joan Walker and Wendy Worthen.

The awards program will be held in December.