The University Record, September 12, 1994


Pintrich appointed journal editor

Paul R. Pintrich, associate professor of education, has been appointed editor of Educational Psychologist, the journal for Division 15, Educational Psychology, of the American Psychological Association. The journal publishes review articles, scholarly essays and critiques of a theoretical/conceptual nature that address issues, problems and research in the field of educational psychology.

Oxford University Press publishes Brater’s book

The Oxford University Press has published The Drama in the Text: Beckett’s Late Fiction by Enoch Brater, professor of English and of theatre. Brater is also the author of Why Beckett, Beyond Minimalism: Beckett’s Late Style in the Theater and Beckett at 80/Beckett in Context.

Harper Collins publishes John Kingdon’s book

Political science Prof. John Kingdon’s second edition of Agendas, Alternatives, and Public Policies has been published by Harper Collins. It’s a report of original research on the topic of public policy agenda-setting: not how issues are decided but how they get to be issues in the first place. The original research was done in the late 1970s, and the second edition updates the book with more contemporary case studies and further reflections on the theory.

Dean Giles Bole appointed to Congressional committee

Medical School Dean Giles G. Bole has been appointed by the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment to the Physician Payment Review Commission. The panel will make recommendations to Congress on health system reform, including graduate medical education and the Medicaid program.

Yamada chairs NIH panel

Tadataka Yamada, chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, served as chair of a National Institutes of Health (NIH)) consensus development panel on the role of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori in peptic ulcer disease.

Brenda W. Gillespie, assistant professor of biostatistics in the School of Public Health, also served as a member of an NIH consensus development panel. Gillespie was asked to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of routine screening for ovarian cancer.

Howard Hughes Medical Institute taps Juanita Merchant

Juanita L. Merchant, assistant professor of internal medicine and of physiology, is one of 44 new investigators chosen by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute to conduct basic biomedical research.

Higgs wins Fulbright grant

Elton D. Higgs, professor of English at the U-M-Dearborn, has been awarded a Fulbright grant to lecture at the National Chengchi University in Taipei, Taiwan, during the 1994–95 academic year. He will teach both graduate and undergraduate courses in Middle English literature as well as courses in English and American poetry.

Wojtys receives research grant

Edward M. Wojtys, associate professor of surgery, is the 1994 recipient of the Howmedica Research Grant Awardfrom the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation.

DeLancey honored

John O.L. DeLancey, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, has received the Certificate of Merit Award from the Central Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

Toxicology Scholar Award goes to Dennis Thiele

Dennis J. Thiele, associate professor of biological chemistry, received the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Toxicology Scholar Award. The $350,000 grant will support the study of the molecular responses of yeast cells to toxic metals.

Doukas elected president of the Medical Ethics Resource Network

David J. Doukas, assistant professor of family practice, has been elected president of the Medical Ethics Resource Network of Michigan, an organization of hospitals, hospices and nursing homes statewide that encourages research and educational collaboration in the field of medical ethics.

Doukas is also author of Planning for Uncertainty: A Guide to Living Wills and Other Advance Directives for Health Care, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Winful receives Engineering’s Professor of the Year Award

Herbert G. Winful, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has received the Tau Beta Professor of the Year Award in the College of Engineering.