The University Record, April 16, 1996

Safety oversight group seeks non-union staff member

The Public Safety Oversight Committee, required under Public Act 120, is comprised of two staff members, two students and two faculty members nominated and elected by their peers. The committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievan ces against any public safety officer deputized by the University.

The staff member positions on the committee are for a two-year term. Members are elected through a mailed ballot. One staff member is elected in odd-numbered years by staff members represented by a union. The other is elected in even-numbered years by staff not represented by a union.

The staff member elected this year will represent non-union staff members.

Staff members not represented by unions may nominate themselves or agree to be nominated. In the event there are more than six nominees, a balanced slate of six candidates from the various job families will be provided on a ballot sent to all non-union staff members from the allied health, office, professional/administrative and technical job groups.

Nominations can be made on the accompanying form, which should be submitted to Human Resources & Affirmative Action Administration, 4021 Wolverine Tower by May 1, enabling election and appointment of the new person by July 1.