The University Record, April 23, 1996

Student-athletes honored at banquet

The U-M honored scholar-athletes who had maintained a 3.0 grade-point average (GPA) over both fall and winter semesters or a cumulative 3.0 overall. Above, basketball players Ryan DeKuiper (left) and Neal Morton hold their scholar-athlete awards. The Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor was presented to Monika Black, a high-jumper on the women's track and field team, and Jay Riemersma, a tight end on the Michigan football team. Stefan G. Humphries was named 1996 Gerald R. Ford Award recipient.

Charles Johnson and Vickie Smith, student athletes at the U-M-Dearborn, received 1996 Scholar-Athlete Awards at a banquet last month.

Johnson, a sophomore and resident of Detroit, played center on the men's basketball team. He also was named scholar-athlete by the Great Lakes Region of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics and made the region's first team. Johnson was the basketball team's most valuable player for 1995­96.

Smith, a sophomore and resident of Dearborn, was an outside hitter on the women's volleyball team. She also received the Volleyball Coaches' Award in 1995.

Photo by Bob Kalmbach