The University Record, June 11, 1996

Provost names search committee for director of University Library

Provost J. Bernard Machen has named the 10 members who will serve as the search advisory committee for the next director of the University Library.

"In my first meeting with the committee I will request that they conduct a national search and present me with an unranked slate of final candidates in the Winter 1997 term. I am enthusiastic about this search and look forward to the selection of an outstanding director who will continue your tradition of excellence," Machen wrote in his letter to the University Library community.

Committee members are Lucy R. Cohen, administrative manager, University Library; Juan R. Cole, professor of history; Stephen L. Darwall (chair), professor of philosophy;

Karen E. Downing, senior associate librarian; Margaret L. Hedstrom, associate professor of information and library studies; Margaret A. Leary, director and librarian, Law Library;

Wendy P. Lougee, librarian and assistant director, Digital Library; Louise Stein, associate professor of music; Deborah A. Torres, graduate student in the School of Information; and Bernardus A. Van der Pluijm, associate professor of geological sciences.