The University Record, June 11, 1996

Randolph, Johnson, rheumatology staff recognized for leadership, service

Two individual staff members and a staff team received 1996 Staff Recognition Awards at the Workplace of the '90s Conference June 5. James Randolph, assistant director of research administration, received the Distinguished Service Award; Benjie Johnson, clinical department associate II in dermatology, received the Outstanding Leadership Award and the Division of Rheumatology staff received the Exemplary Team Award.

Randolph was recognized for his more than 25 years of service at the U-M. In his nomination, he is said to have "justifiably earned the reputation throughout campus during this entire period as being an unparalleled source of helpful information, patient guidance and effective strategy to faculty and staff on all issues related to research funding from the Public Health Service."

"On many occasions, individuals on campus have stated that they could not have succeeded in mastering the maze of federal research proposal preparation without Jim's unique expertise and support."

J. Fabiana "Benjie" Johnson was praised in her nomination for her management style. "She has demonstrated in several very difficult situations that she can focus on the key issues, put forth effort to ensure that the employee has a clear understanding of what the issues, expectations and process are and then to document the proceedings clearly. Staff continually turn to her for advice on work-related problems because they know she will treat their conversations confidentially and can provide direction for them."

A co-worker recognized Johnson's openness and caring. "There is never a problem that she can't resolve or an issue too trivial. Even the most difficult problems, she handles with ease. It is evident that she cares deeply about her employees and co-workers, not just professionally, but personally."

Division of Rheumatology administrative staff were cited for their service to their customers and to each other. Staff members are: Yvonne Beerens, Rhonda Buck, James Deardorff, Norma Elias, Nancy Elslager, J. Lee Marks, Jeanne-Marie Quevedo, Gigi Rowe and Beverly Saunders.

"Over the past two years our staff has been reduced by two full-time employees. As a result, the distribution of work has changed, and responsibilities of each staff member increased. Through their ingenuity and motivation, the staff adapted to each of these changes smoothly and improved their efficiency and organizational skills. As a result, our work is completed accurately and promptly, while preserving the excellent relations between staff members."

The awards, now in their third year, are presented by the Office of the Provost and the Workplace of the '90s planning team.