The University Record, June 25, 1996


Juster is recipient
of Gottschalk Prize

Susan M. Juster, professor of history, is the recipient of the 1995-96 Gottschalk Prize. The $1,000 prize awarded by the American Society for 18th Century Studies is given for the best book on an 18th-century topic published during the preceding year. Juster's book, Disorderly Women: Sexual Politics and Evangelicalism in Revolutionary New England, was cited for "its blend of original archival research and illuminating commentary."


Swales receives award
for best article

John M. Swales, professor of linguistics and director of the English Language Institute, received the Daniel Horowitz award for the best article published in English for Specific Purposes in 1995.


Poster is awarded Detroit Compact Leadership Award
John Poster, dean of the School of Education at the U-M-Dearborn, received the Detroit Compact Leadership Award May 9. Poster helped develop a summer employment program at U-M-Dearborn for students from a Detroit middle school.


Singer receives award
for public opinion research

Eleanor Singer, research scientist in the Survey Research Center, is the recipient of the 1996 American Association for Public Opinion Research Award. She was cited for "exceptionally distinguished lifetime achievement" and outstanding contributions to the field of public opinion research.


Berger honored for contributions to science teaching
Carl Berger, professor of education, was awarded the Distinguished Contributions to Science Education Through Research Award by the National Association for Research in Science Teaching. Berger was cited for "his use of technology as a tool for learning and for gathering and interpreting educational research data."


Woods wins competition
for brochure

Vivian Woods, marketing coordinator for the Office of Continuing Medical Education, has been awarded first place in the 4th Annual Society of Medical College Directors of Continuing Medical Education Brochure Competition for her piece "Advances in Psychiatry VII 1995." Woods received a trophy for her winning publication. Of the 37 colleges and universities that entered the competition, the U-M placed first, Brown University was awarded second place, and the University of California, Berkeley, placed third.


Neel will receive
epidemiology award

James V. Neel, the Lee R. Dice Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Human Genetics and professor emeritus of internal medicine, will receive the first Distinguished Service Award of the International Genetic Epidemiology Society at the society's annual meeting in August.


Keener is honored
with award from YMCA

William Keener, director of the Program for Academic Support at the U-M-Dearborn, is among 37 community leaders who have received YMCA Minority Achiever Awards. Kenner was honored for "making a significant contribution to the workplace and the Detroit community by serving as a role model to young people, co-workers and to the community at large."


Turcotte will receive
Champion of Hope award

Jeremiah Turcotte, professor of surgery, will receive the Champion of Hope award from the National Kidney Foundation of Michigan on June 21 for his "dedication to the health care field." Turcotte initiated the transplant program at the U-M in 1964 and chaired the Department of Surgery for 13 years.


Ball is named Spencer fellow
Arnetha Ball, assistant professor of education, has been named a 1996-97 National Academy of Education Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow. Ball was selected from hundreds of scholars to receive a $40,000 award funded by the Spencer Foundation to "enhance the future of research in education by developing new talent in the many fields of education scholarship."


Two named National Humanities Center Fellows
Donald S. Lopez, professor of Buddhist and Tibetan studies, and Ian Patrick Rumfitt, assistant professor of philosophy, were named National Humanities Center Fellows for 1996-97. They will be in residence at the National Humanities Center for the academic year. The Center is a privately incorporated independent institute for advanced study in the humanities.