The University Record, November 13, 1995


Townsend elected to rank of AAAS Fellow
Leroy B. Townsend, the Albert B. Prescott Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, was recently elected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) to the rank of Fellow. Established in 1848, the AAAS is a multi-disciplinary scientific organization of approximately 142,000 members. Each year the AAAS Council elects to the rank of AAAS Fellows members whose "efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished." The AAAS publishes Science magazine.

Oaklander's book published
Nathan Oaklander, philosophy professor at U-M-Flint, has recently had published Existentialist Philosophy, an Introduction, second edition by Prentice Hall Publishers.

Taghaboni-Dutta receives NSF grant
Fataneh Taghaboni-Dutta, assistant professor of management at U-M-Flint, has received a National Science Foundation Grant to study automated guided vehicles (AGV), also known as robots. Her study will focus on the development of a methodology for designing facility layouts and AGV guidepaths.