The University Record, September 5 , 1995

Nominations sought for seat on safety committee

The Public Safety Oversight Committee, required under Public Act No. 120, is comprised of two staff members, two students and two faculty members nominated and elected by their peers. The committee receives and make recommendations regarding grievances against any public safety officer deputized by the University.

The staff member positions on the committee are for a two-year term. Members are elected through a mailed ballot. One staff member is elected on odd-numbered years by staff members represented by a union. The other is elected in even-numbered years by staff not represented by a union.

The staff member elected this year will represent unionized staff members.

Staff members represented by a union may nominate themselves or agree to be nominated. In the event there are more than six nominees, Service Center Management Advisory Groups will provide a balanced slate of six candidates from the various unions on a ballot sent to all union staff members.

Nominations can be made on the accompanying form, which should be submitted to Human Resources & Affirmative Action Administration, 4021 Wolverine Tower, by Sept. 15.