The University Record, September 18, 1995

11 in LS&A recognized for teaching, advising, research

By Rebecca A. Doyle

Dean Edie N. Goldenberg presented 1995 award citations to LS&A faculty members last Monday during the College’s first faculty meeting of the year.

Traianos Gagos, lecturer in the Department of Classical Studies, received the Matthews Underclass Teaching Award for his “inspired and inspiring teaching of Modern Greek, for his long hours spent developing materials, ... for his patience and enthusiasm in instructing all levels of students and, particularly, for his tireless efforts to build a Modern Greek program where there had been none before.”

Susan L. Tepaske-King, LS&A student adviser, was honored with the Ruth M. Sinclair Memorial Award for her “commitment to the educational mission of the College, her service on the Provost’s Committee on the First-Year Experience, her program planning for students in Bursley Hall, the vigor with which she pursues students experiencing difficulty, accompanied by her constancy in providing support and, especially, for her ability to help each student devise an educational program that will enhance that student’s intellectual skills and interest.”

Susan E. Alcock, assistant professor of classical archaeology and classics, received the Class of 1923 Memorial Teaching Award for her “dynamic and enthusiastic teaching, her use of innovative and multimedia materials, her talent for making difficult material accessible and bringing the past to life, her transmission of professional and ethical standards, her time spent on field trips to show students the uses of the past and, above all, for her genuine concern for her students and their intellectual growth.”

Max A. Heirich, associate professor of sociology, was presented with the Excellence in Concentration Advising Award “in recognition of his 27 years as an adviser whose wealth of information is enhanced by creative listening and problem-solving skills, his ability to lead students to control their own academic lives, his creative program planning for students in sociology and especially for his genuine and demonstrable concern for both students and staff.”

Meigan Aronson, assistant professor of physics, received the Excellence in Concentration Advising Award for the “welcoming atmosphere she has created in her department for all students, for her innovative program planning, for arranging opportunities for students to meet with working physicists, for extending advising into the lab by helping students find research opportunities, by providing up-to-date job and graduate school information and, most importantly, for her care in helping each student construct a physics program that meets individual talents and needs.”

The first Phyllis and William Wolff Faculty award was presented to James Levinsohn, associate professor of economics, honoring his research.

Julia Lockwood Awards were made to Nicholas Dirks, professor of history and of anthropology; Floyd Gray, professor of French; John Kucich, professor and chair, English language and literature; Donald Lopez Jr., professor of Buddhist and Tibetan studies; and Margaret Somers, assistant professor of sociology. Julia Lockwood Awards are made to faculty members for research and publication in the liberal arts. Each award carries an annual $3,000 stipend to be used by the faculty member for research.