The University Record, April 15, 1997

Search under way for pharmacy dean

A search advisory committee for the next dean of the College of Pharmacy has been appointed by Provost J. Bernard Machen. He has asked the committee to present him with an unranked slate for final candidates in the fall.

Committee members are: Frank J. Ascione (co-chair), associate dean for academic affairs, College of Pharmacy; Eugene H. Cordes (co-chair), professor of medicinal chemistry and of chemistry; Gordon L. Amidon, the Charles R. Walgreen Jr. Professor of Pharmacy and professor of pharmaceutics; Michael A. Marletta, the John Gideon Searle Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy; Rowena G. Matthews, the G. Robert Greenberg Distinguished University Professor of Biological Chemistry; Dennis Parker, third-year pharmacy student; and Lynda S. Welage, associate professor of pharmacy.

Staff support is provided by Pamela T. Horne, assistant to the vice provost for academic and multicultural affairs. Karen L. Gibbons, assistant to the provost, is liaison to the Provost's Office.

All members may be reached via e-mail to PHARMSEARCH.