The University Record, December 17, 1996

Bylaw change proposed for Rackham Graduate School dean, executive board

The following change is proposed for Regents' Bylaw 11.08 regarding the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies. Comments on the changes should be made to the Office of the General Counsel, Room 4010, Fleming Administration Building 1340. Additions are italicized; deletions are bold.

Regents' Bylaw Sec. 11.08. The Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies: The Dean and the Executive Board

The executive function of the graduate school shall be performed by a dean assisted by an executive board. The executive board shall consist of the dean and twelve fourteen members to be appointed by the board upon recommendation by the president. One of the fourteen shall be from the University of Michigan-Flint and a second shall be from the University of Michigan-Dearborn. The length of service for the Flint and Dearborn representatives shall be determined by the campus provost. The other appointed members shall hold office for terms of three years each, so adjusted that four vacancies shall occur each year. The dean shall be chair of the board.

The executive board is empowered to establish divisional boards in the interests of the subject matter divisions in particular and the graduate school in general.