The University Record, July 16, 1997


Vazquez will receive Curt P. Richter Award

Delia M. Vazquez, assistant professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, will receive the 1997 Curt P. Richter Award given by the International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology (ISPNE) on July 30. The award is given to a young investigator for original basic or clinical research in the area of neuroendocrinology, hormones and behavior. Vazquez's award-winning paper is titled, "Stress and the Developing Limbic Hypothalamic Pituitary Adrenal Axis."

Gilgenbach receives award for work on electron beam

Ronald M. Gilgenbach, professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, received the 1997 Plasma Science and Applications Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He received the award for his pioneering work on electron beam transport and stability and innovative diagnostics of laser-ablated plasma plumes.

Dougherty receives Lippincott Award

Richard M. Dougherty, professor of library science, is the 1997 recipient of the American Library Association's Joseph W. Lippincott Award. The award is the highest honor in librarianship and recognizes distinguished service to the profession. Dougherty's contributions include work in the information industry, in the library profession and toward the advancement of academic libraries.

ADA certifies Mercer

Nelda M. Mercer, head dietitian at the Medical Center, is a certified fellow of the American Dietetic Association (ADA). To obtain certification, Mercer successfully demonstrated exceptional professional abilities and expertise through a rigorous portfolio assessment. ADA reports that less than one percent of the 62,000 registered dietitians achieve this status.

Lopez receives Bennett award

Juan F. Lopez, assistant professor of psychiatry, received the 1997 A.E. Bennett Award for research in psychiatry. Lopez is the first recipient of the award in three years. He was recognized for his paper, "Regulation of 5-HT1A Receptor, Glucocorticoid and Mineralocorticoid Receptor in Rat and Human Hippocampus: Implications for the Nuerobiology of Depression."

Fine is honorary degree recipient

Sidney Fine, the Andrew Dickson White Distinguished Professor of History, received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Massachusetts, Boston.

Gupta named White House fellow

Sanjay K. Gupta, neurosurgery resident, was selected as one of 15 White House Fellows. Beginning in September, Gupta will spend one year serving as an assistant to cabinet secretaries, senior White House staff and heads of executive branch agencies. He hopes to participate in the development of health care models for the 21st century.