The University Record, October 8, 1996

Nominations due for Business School
staff recognition awards

By Eun Ja Yu
Business School


Oct. 31 is the deadline for nominating Business School staff for the School's Staff Recognition Program. The awards program will be held at 11 a.m. Dec. 11 in Hale Auditorium. Refreshments will be served at 10:45 a.m.

The program was developed in 1993 to recognize the achievements and accomplishments of staff members. Award winners receive a certificate and $500 and have their name engraved on a plaque at the Business School.

Staff can be nominated by any Business School staff, faculty, student or visitor. Forms and drop boxes are on the second floor outside the Mail Room; outside the Kresge Business Library, Research Support Office; on the first floor of the Executive Education Center; and on the basement level outside Document Processing. Nominations can also be made via e-mail to:

Unit directors, deans, faculty, students and members of the selection committee are not eligible for awards. Nominees not selected for awards can be nominated again. Award winners are ineligible for awards for the following five years.

A committee of peer staff reviews the nomination through blind selection by number, rather than name, and selects up to six winners twice per year. Selection criteria include knowledge of job, teamwork, customer service and enthusiasm.

For more information, contact a member of the Staff Recognition Program Committee. Co-chairs are Patt Cassell and Douglas Mills. Members are Laura Adams, Charlene Bechtelheimer, Marie Bien, Sherry Brueger, Sherry Ferry, Heidi Dziak, Donna Hale, Mary Perrydorre, Linda Short and Eun Ja Yu.