The University Record, October 8, 1996


Gaucher receives Regent's Award
Ellen Gaucher, senior associate director, University Health System, received the 1996 Regent's Award for Management Excellence from the American College of Healthcare Executives. Gaucher was recognized for her leadership expertise in the health care quality movement.


Two are honored in Chicago Women in Publishing Competition
Two staff members received Individual Excellence in Writing Awards in the 1996 Chicago Women in Publishing Annual Competition. Karen Thomas, editor in U-M Hospitals Planning and Marketing, was awarded first place for "Neuroblastoma: Raging Against a Childhood Monster." Kristen Lidke Finn, science writer in U-M Hospitals Planning and Marketing, was awarded second place for "Planting Seeds of Progress Against Prostate Disease."


Ulsoy named SME fellow
A. Galip Ulsoy, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics is one of 10 individuals to be inducted into the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) 1996 College of Fellows. He has pioneered the development of a high-response supervisory control for drilling and has established the U-M Program in Manufacturing, which he directs. He also is the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing.


Williams receives Excellence
in Research award

Robert M. Williams, adjunct professor of health policy, has received the 1996 Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Michigan Foundation Excellence in Research Award for his article "The Costs of Visits to Emergency Departments," which was published in the March 7, 1996, issue of the New England Journal of Medicine.


Library Association
honors Davidsen

Susanna L. Davidsen, senior associate librarian, has received the Walter H. Kaiser Award from the Michigan Library Association. The award recognizes those affiliated with libraries who contribute an idea, procedure, concept or adaptation that results in improvement of a library or libraries.


Raymond chairs study section
Pamela Raymond, professor of anatomy and cell biology, is chair of the Visual Sciences C Study Section, Division of Research Grants, Department of Health and Human Services. Members of study sections are selected on the basis of their demonstrated competence and achievement in their scientific discipline as evidenced by the quality of research accomplishments, publications in scientific journals, and other significant activities, achievements and honors.


Gilbert receives
Control Heritage Award

Elmer G. Gilbert, professor emeritus of aerospace engineering and of electrical engineering and computer science, has received the Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award from the American Automatic Control Council. The award recognizes distinguished career contributions to the theory or application of automatic control and is the highest recognition of professional achievement in this field in the United States.


Hirschfeld's book published
Race in the Making
, by Lawrence A. Hirschfeld, has been published by the MIT Press. Hirschfeld is associate professor of anthropology and of psychology. In the book, he argues that "our minds seem to be organized in a way that makes thinking that the human world can be segmented into discrete racial populations an almost automatic part of our mental repertoire."


Six in psychiatry receive
Young Investigator grants

The following individuals from the Department of Psychiatry have been awarded the two-year 1996 Young Investigators grants from the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression: John R DeQuardo; Stephen F. Taylor; Delia M. Vazquez; Margit Burmeister; Audrey Seasholtz; and Robert C. Thompson. All are from the Department of Psychiatry.


Fink, Adkins, and Minth-Worby awarded second-year funding
John K. Fink, Steve M. Adkins and Carolyn A. Minth-Worby, all of the Department of Psychiatry, have received second-year funding for their 1995 Young Investigators grants from the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression.


Riba elected trustee-at-large
Michelle Riba, clinical professor of psychiatry and vice chair for the American Psychiatric Association (APA) Scientific Committee, was elected trustee-at-large for the APA.