The University Record, October 22, 1996


Farley's book published
The New American Reality: Who We Are, How We Got Here, and Where We Are Going, by W. Reynolds Farley, professor of sociology, has been published by Sage. The book examines trends in economics, families, immigration and race relations.


Waller re-elected to board
Patricia F. Waller, director of the U-M Transportation Research Institute, has been re-elected to another three-year term on the Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS) Board of Directors. ITS is an international organization that furthers the development and implementation of ITS technology.


Holmes receives Anthony
V. DeVito Memorial Award

Sara B. Holmes, social science research associate, is the 1996 recipient of the Geriatrics Center's Anthony V. DeVito Memorial Award. The annual award was established in 1991 in memory of Anthony V. DeVito to recognize outstanding service, dedication and commitment to excellence in enhancing community-based geriatrics education in Michigan.


Senior elected president
of radio science organization

Thomas B. A. Senior, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been elected to a three-year term as president of the International Union of Radio Science. Senior had previously served as the organization's vice president.

The Union focuses its efforts on research and international cooperation in all applications of electromagnetic waves, including personal communication systems and radio astronomy, and is supported by the national academies of science in nearly 50 countries.


Two honored by American
Political Science Association

Philip Converse, the Robert Cooley Angell Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Sociology and Political Science, and Roy Pierce, professor emeritus of political science, were presented with the George H. Hallett Award by the Representation and Electoral Systems Section of the American Political Science Association.

The two received the award for Political Representation in France (Belknap Press, 1986) during the association's 1996 annual meeting. The award is presented annually to the author of a book published at least 10 years ago that has had a lasting contribution to the literature on representation and electoral systems.


Williams earns award from Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation
Robert M. Williams, adjunct professor of health policy, has received the 1996 Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Foundation Excellence in Research Award. He received the $10,000 award for his article "The Costs of Visits to Emergency Departments," published in the March 7, 1996, New England Journal of Medicine. The award will support continued research in the Department of Health Management and Policy.


Koopman receives Academy's
Distinguished Service Award

Charles F. Koopman Jr., professor of otolaryngology, received the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery's Distinguished Service Award. The award recognizes members who have contributed long-term service to the academy.


Ward elected president of the American Board of Pathology;
receives Rous-Whipple Award

Peter A. Ward, the Godfrey D. Stobbe Professor of Pathology and chair of the Department of Pathology, has been elected president of the American Board of Pathology. Ward also received the Rous-Whipple Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology for research in the field of pathology.


Dixit receives the Warner-
Lambert/Parke Davis Award

Vishva Dixit, professor of pathology, received the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology for research in experimental pathology.


Weiss named president-elect
of Academy of Pathology

Sharon W. Weiss, the A. James French Professor of Diagnostic Pathology and director of anatomic pathology, has been named president-elect of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology Inc. She also received the 1996 Wellesley College Alumnae Achievement Award for outstanding contributions to her profession.


Dikinson has been accepted
to the Brain Attack Coalition

Lawrence Dikinson, professor of neurosurgery, has been accepted as a faculty member of the Brain Attack Coalition. The coalition is an informational and educational program devoted to promoting the proper medical treatment for stroke patients.


Kearly, Kewman receive
Excellence in Critical Care
Clinical Practice Award

Gwen Kearly and Sandy Kewman, both clinical nurses, received the Excellence in Critical Care Clinical Practice Award for 1995 from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses.


Williams receives Critical
Care Mentoring Award

Michael Williams, clinical nurse specialist, received the Critical Care Mentoring Award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses.


Seven faculty members
named AAAS Fellows

Seven faculty members are among 159 new Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) this year. They are Frederick C. Neidhartdt, the Frederick G. Novy Distinguished University Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and acting vice president for research; Joseph Vining, the Harry Burns Hutchins Collegiate Professor of Law; Homer A. Neal, professor of physics and interim president; Lawrence Sklar, the William K. Frankena Professor of Philosophy; Kent V. Flannery, the James B. Griffin Distinguished University Professor of Anthropological Archaeology; Richard I. Ford, the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Anthropology; and William E. Bolcom, the Ross Lee Finney Distinguished University Professor of Music.

AAAS Fellows are recognized for their contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts.