The University Record, September 17, 1996

Open meeting will be held to discuss search for University Library director

The search advisory committee for the director of the University Library system will hold an open meeting for all faculty 3-5 p.m. Sept. 24 in Rackham Amphitheatre to discuss the search.

Committee chair Stephen Darwall notes that "this is an important time for academic research libraries as universities think through the challenges and opportunities of economic climate, technology and the changing world of scholarly publication."

He adds that the committee is interested in learning about faculty members' perspectives on the search and the issues facing the Library.

Faculty also may contact directly members of the search committee. (See accompanying list for names and addresses.) Nominations for the position should be sent to the committee at its e-mail address: LIBRARYSEARCH@umich.edu.

Job description

The successful candidate for the director of the University Library should have an understanding of the library's role in a research university, be able to articulate the present and future challenges facing academic libraries, be an effective advocate for libraries and librarians within the broadly defined knowledge environment, and be able to ensure continued development of the Library's rich print collections while playing a lead role in harnessing new technologies in support of scholarly communication and learning.

The positions requires and individual with experience in the academic and broader scholarly community, preferable in a lead administrative role. A demonstrated capacity for developing and sustaining effective relationships with administrators, faculty, staff and students will be critical, as will expertise in the strategic programmatic and financial planning activities of a large organization. Also important will be a strong commitment to building and supporting a diverse staff and collections. Knowledge of emerging technologies and their potential within the domain of scholarly communication is essential.

Applications for the position will be accepted until the position is filled. Those received before Oct. 15 will be assured of consideration. Applications from women and minorities are encouraged.

Committee announced for Director of University Library search

Stephen L. Darwall (chair), 764-6285 or sdarwall@umich.edu.

Lucy R. Cohen, 764-2546, or cohen@umich.edu.

Juan R. Cole, 763-1599, or jrcole@umich.edu.

Karen E. Downing, 764-9529, or kdown@umich.edu.

Margaret L. Hedstrom, 647-3582, or hedstrom@umich.edu.

Stanley J. Jacobs, 936-1255, or sjj@umich.edu.

Margaret A. Leary, 764-4468, or mleary@umich.edu.

Wendy P. Lougee, 764-8016, or wlougee@umich.edu.

Deborah A. Torres, dtorres@umich.edu.

Ben A. Van der Pluijm, 764-8545, or vdpluijm@umich.edu.

Staff support is provided by Beverly A. Kearns, Office of the Provost, 763-1282, fax 764-4546. Karen L. Gibbons (764-9290, fax 764-4546) will serve as liaison to the Provost's Office.