The University Record, September 17, 1996

Boehm heads committee seeking director of the Office of Financial Aid

Susan Boehm, interim associate dean for student affairs at the School of Nursing, is heading the seven-member advisory committee seeking a director of the Office of Financial Aid.

Among other duties, the director of financial aid is responsible for planning and directing the full array of administrative and operational activities relating to undergraduate need-based aid, including grants, loans and work-study, as well as some merit-based and some graduate aid programs.

The committee is seeking an individual with experience in the administration of an office of financial aid or a related field, sensitivity to students' needs, with a strong commitment to equal opportunity and affirmative action, experience with information technology, excellent communication skills, effective interpersonal skills and awareness of the issues affecting the financial aid profession.

Applications and nominations for the post submitted by Nov. 15 will be given first consideration. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled. Boehm may be reached at 763-9435.

The other members of the committee are:
Lynne A. Aspnes, associate dean, School of Music.
Betty Jean Jones, associate dean, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies.
J. Wayne Jones, associate dean for undergraduate education, College of Engineering.
Thomas W. McElvain, registrar.
Marilyn S. McKinney, associate director, Office of Undergraduate Admissions.
Esrold A. Nurse, LS&A assistant dean for student academic affairs.
Staff support will be provided by Beverly A. Kearns, Office of the Provost.
All members of the committee may be reached via e-mail at OFA