The University Record, April 22, 1998


ASEE recognizes five GSIs as Outstanding Student Teachers

The American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) has recognized five engineering graduate student instructors (GSIs) with Outstanding Student Teaching Awards. The winners are Robert Feyen, Stephani LaCrosse, Christian Lorenz, Amir Oliveira and Paul Suding. In addition, Aaron Crumm and Elizabeth Smith received honorable mentions.

Students were nominated by a faculty member, students in their class or themselves. Selection was based on letters of recommendation from faculty and students, and was determined by a committee of faculty, graduate and undergraduate students. The award carries $500 cash stipend and a free one-year membership in ASEE.

Three U-M-Dearborn faculty win Distinguished Teaching Award

Three faculty at U-M-Dearborn have received this year's Distinguished Teaching Award. Barry Bogin, professor of anthropology, won in the tenured category; Michael Rosano, assistant professor of political science, won in the non-tenured category; and Tarek Joseph, adjunct lecturer in geography, won in the supplemental category.

Each year, U-M-Dearborn presents these awards to faculty members who are committed to "undergraduate and/or graduate education, effective teaching, improvement of courses and curriculum, interaction with students as an adviser, counselor or group participant, and professional growth as a teacher."

Harary awarded honorary degree by University of Louisville

Frank Harary, professor emeritus of mathematics and faculty associate emeritus of the Research Center for Group Dynamics, Institute for Social Research, has been awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by the University of Louisville.

Harary's citation stated: "You are known as 'the father of modern graph theory' for work that has brought this field to its present importance of vitality in contemporary mathematics. More than seven hundred professional publications testify to your prodigious research productivity. Your applications of graph theory to anthropology, biology, chemistry, computer science and psychology, as well as your unselfish sharing of new ideas and directions of research, have benefited mathematicians and scientists worldwide."

Lusk named MNRS Distinguished Contributor to Research

Sally L. Lusk, professor of nursing and director of the Occupational Health Nursing Program, has received the Midwest Nursing Research Society's (MNRS) Distinguished Contributor to Research in the Midwest Award, one of the most prestigious awards granted to nurses in research, for her body of research work spanning 14 years. Lusk is the nation's eminent nurse researcher in occupational health, specializing in the prevention of noise-induced hearing loss. Her research program was the first to address the factors influencing workers' use of hearing protection devices to prevent noise-induced hearing loss. This work served as a basis for the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health's more recent focus on workers' perspectives.

Perlin named ASCE Fellow

Marc Perlin, associate professor of naval architecture and marine engineering, has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Perlin, who studies the mechanics of waves and coastal phenomena, joined the College of Engineering in 1989.