The University Record, January 14, 1998


Barquet is CRTAC advisory board chair

Norma Barquet, associate director for national origin, Programs for Educational Opportunity, has been named chair of the advisory committee of the Comprehensive Regional Technical Assistance Center. The Center is based at the University of Wisconsin in Madison and serves Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, and North and South Dakota.

Yang receives AIChE Award

Ralph T. Yang, professor and chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering, has received the American Institute of Chemical Engineers' (AIChE's) Clarence Gerhold Award.

The Gerhold award recognizes outstanding contributions in research, development or application of chemical separations technology. Yang is an AIChe Fellow, and has served as director of its Separations Division, chaired its National Program Committee Area 2e on Adsorption and Ion Exchange, and organized and chaired several national meeting sessions. He is the author of 210 refereed publications, including the book Gas Separation by Adsorption Processes, and co-editor of New Directions in Sorption Technology. Yang holds 13 U.S. patents and sits on the editorial boards of several chemical engineering journals.

Brewer appointed Gustaf Professorship

Garry D. Brewer, director of the Frederick A. Erb Environmental Management Institute, professor of resource and public policy and of business administration, has been appointed to the King Carl XVI Gustaf Professorship in Environmental Science for the year 1998-99 beginning in Sept.

The professorship was established in the King's honor on his 50th birthday by The Royal Swedish Academies of Sciences, Agriculture and Forestry, Engineering Engineering Sciences and The Confederation of Swedish Industries. Brewer's appointment is the first to this newly established position.

Brewer is working to build bridges between U-M and Sweden through various means, including round-table discussions on environmental issues with international experts and leaders in business, government and non-profit organizations.

Burdi elected chair of AAMC BS/MD program cluster

Alphonse R. Burdi, director of the Inteflex Program and student biomedical research and professor of anatomy, has been elected chair of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) group of medical schools offering combined baccalaureate-M.D. programs. As chair, Burdi will provide leadership to 24 BS/MD programs across the country, setting the national group agenda for 1998 as a prelude for a national conference in November and laying out strategies to help other colleges and medical schools develop combined BS/MD programs.

Zientek recieves Athena Award

Renee Zientek, program associate for the Center for University Outreach at U-M-Flint, was among 19 professional women to receive the Athena Award, sponsored by the Women's Business Council of the Flint Area Chamber of Commerce and Victor George Oldsmobile. The award recognizes contributions made to the Flint community.