The University Record, July 22, 1998


Five receive Mott research awards

Five faculty members have been awarded grants totaling nearly $100,000 under the C.S. Mott Children's Hospital Research Fund. Grants of up to $20,000 each were awarded to John D. E. Barks, assistant professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, for "Modeling Aspects of Poverty in Infancy"; Barbara Felt, assistant professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, for "Iron Deficiency Anemia During Early Development"; Joseph Lelli Jr., clinical assistant professor of surgery, for "The Effects of Second-Hand Smoke on Peri-Operative Complications and Post Operative Recovery Time in Children"; Daniel Tietelbaum, assisant professor of surgery, for "mdr2 Expression in the Mouse Liver: Relevance to the Development of TPN-Cholestasis"; and Daniel Wechsler, assistant professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, for "The Role of MXII in Human Glioblastoma."


Moskwiak receives staff recognition award

Sharon Moskwiak, senior executive secretary in the Dean's Office, School of Social Work, has received the Social Work Spring/Summer Term Staff Recognition Award. Moskwiak, who has been with the University since 1979, was recognized for her outstanding professionalism.


Six receive Business School Staff Recognition Awards

Judy Fearnside, Elise Kelly, Kenneth Martin, Linda Schaeffer, Terry Silver and Sandy Stapish were recognized at the Business School Staff Recognition awards ceremony, June 10 for their contributions to the School. Each received a framed plaque and $500.

Fearnside, research associate, was nominated for "persistence, patience and attention to detail." One colleague stated that "our customers/clients think that Judy walks on water." She "takes it upon herself to see that others are recognized for their accomplishments".

Kelly, sector manager for Recruiting Services, was nominated as "an ardent supporter of students" and for "going the extra mile." She was described as having "a drive that constantly makes the University more appealing to the firms that recruit here."

Martin, kitchen cleaner, was nominated for his teamwork and "team spirit." Martin "embraced the changes (of the kitchen moving to Oxford Housing) with open arms." He is the first Staff Recognition Award-winner from the Executive Residence area.

Schaeffer, executive secretary and office manager, performs her job "with efficiency, care and excellence." Schaffer's interpersonal skills and demeanor are said to "foster a very positive environment" for her group. A student employee stated that "I hope my future bosses are like her. [She] is teaching me the skills I need to succeed in the business world that I can't learn in school."

Silver, computer systems specialist, was commended for combining "a high technical skill with common humanness." His nominees went on to say, "Simply put, we get to choose our doctors--Terry is our doctor of choice."

Stapish, executive secretary, is "an extremely proficient administrator" and does "what would normally take three or four very competent staff members with tremendous enthusiasm and personal care."


Traugott elected president of AAPOR

Michael Traugott, professor of communication studies and senior research scientist, Center for Political Studies, has been elected president of the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR). AAPOR, founded in 1947, is a professional association of individuals who are engaged or interested in the methods and applications of public opinion and social research.