The University Record, June 10, 1998


Service, leadership and teamwork highlight Workplace 2000 awards

"A superlative role model," "a breath of fresh air," a woman with "extraordinary commitment, organization and good humor" and a team with a combined 95 years of service to the U-M are the recipients of this year's Workplace 2000 awards.

The program recognizes individual staff members and teams who have demonstrated outstanding commitment, leadership, service and teamwork; overcome adverse situations; and served as role models and mentors for all staff. Selection committee members represent the faculty, office, professional/administrative, service/maintenance and trades job categories. Nominees must have worked at the U-M for at least two years. Individual awards consist of a $750 monetary prize, and team award-winners divide $2,000. The winners are:

Cynthia Gulacsik• Cynthia Gulacsik, custodian II in Plant Building Services, and Sandy Snedecor, health science research associate II in the Alcohol Research Center, tied in the category of Distinguished Service. Gulacsik was described by her colleagues as a "breath of fresh air," and as someone who "always communicates, helps and shows a sincere interest in the people around her--her customers."

Sandy SnedecorSnedecor was nominated to acknowledge "her outstanding dedication, exemplary service and invaluable contributions in her role as the data manager for the Data Management Core." She has the "remarkable ability to hire and maintain a diverse and multicultural group of staff who invariably develop great respect for her and feel motivated to do their best in their jobs."

Kumud Danak• Kumud Danak, administrative associate II in Biologic and Materials Sciences, was the winner in the Outstanding Leadership category. She is "an excellent leader who often does work beyond what is expected of her while remaining approachable, sensitive and caring toward her colleagues." Described in her nomination as "the archetype of this award," Danak's colleagues felt she deserved recognition for her ability to run two departments while "maintaining an outstanding work ethic and attitude."

• Karen S. Bowman, Patrick J. Cunningham, Roger A. Gahn, Lisa M.C. Readmond, Richard Spray, Charles A. "Tony" Sutterley and Robert J. Vande Kopple--known collectively as the U-M Biological Station Team--were the recipients of the Exemplary Team award. Each team member, reads their nomination, is a "superb ambassador" for the Station and the University. They all work extraordinarily well together, responsible for the successful functioning of the 80 full- and part-time employees who make the Station operate each year. "Much of the international reputation of the Station has been earned as a result of their work."


Macdonald awarded Distinguished Faculty Lectureship

Robert L. Macdonald, the Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology and professor of physiology, has been awarded the Medical School's Office of Research and Graduate Studies 1998 Distinguished Faculty Lectureship.

Macdonald was recognized for his outstanding scientific achievements; his commitment to teaching graduate students, medical students, and neurology residents; his active University clinical practice; and his leadership and service to the Medical School, the U-M and professional organizations and journals. His research efforts in both clinical and basic neuroscience research on the electrophysiology of ligand- and voltage-gated ion channels, their involvement in neurologic disease and their roles as therapeutic targets have led to the comprehensive understanding of the mechanisms of anticonvulsant drug actions, providing important theoretical and practical rationale for selection and combination of established agents.


Kish honored by PAA, Hungarian organizations

Leslie Kish, professor emeritus of sociology and research scientist emeritus, Institute for Social Research, recently received a number of awards.

Kish's honors included the Population Association of America's (PAA) 1998 M.C. Sheps award "for Mathematical Demography and Demographic Methodology"; and the Officers' Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Hungary "in recognition for his scientific contributions." The Cross of the Order of Merit was presented to Kish by Hungarian President Arpad Gontz. Furthermore, Kish was formally admitted as an Honorary Fellow of the Hungarian Scientific Academy for "his achievements in the field of statistics."


Gelderloos honored by Detroit Audubon Society

Orin G. Gelderloos, professor of biology and environmental studies at U-M-Dearborn, received the Detroit Audubon Society's Conservationist of the Year award.

"Gelderloos' passion for stewardship and environmental ethics leaves an indelible impression on everyone he meets," according to the award citation. "He plays a leading role in watershed education, both locally and internationally, and is noted for teaching teachers about the Rouge River ecosystem."

Gelderloos has been a member of U-M-Dearborn's faculty since 1970. As director of the campus's natural areas, he has conducted numerous programs to help schoolteachers incorporate environmental issues into the curriculum.


Levine elected vice president of American Industrial Hygiene Association

Steven Levine, professor of industrial health, was elected to a four-year term as vice president of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA). The AIHA has 13,000 members in the United States, Canada, Mexico and the Arabian Gulf.


Ceglarek honored by Society of Manufacturing Engineers

Dariusz J. Ceglarek, assistant research scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, has been named a 1998 Dell K. Allen Outstanding Young Manufacturing Researcher by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers. Ceglarek studies automotive design and manufacture.