The University Record, June 24, 1998


CSHPE faculty honored

A project on the Design of Assessment Models for Higher Education in Brazil was awarded the Outstanding Practice Design Award by the Education Association for Communication and Technology. Directing the project is Eda Macheda de Sousa, former visiting scholar at the Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education (CSHPE) and UNESCO professor of distance education. U-M faculty involved with the project are Marvin Peterson, CSHPE director and professor of education; the late Robert Blackburn, professor emeritus of education; Eric Dey, associate professor of education; Sylvia Hurtado, associate professor of education; Janet Lawrence, associate professor of education and assistant research scientist; Michael Nettles, professor of education; Joan Stark, professor of education; and Lisa Mets, associate director of Center for Research on Learning and Teaching.

The project, funded by UNESCO, involved the design of eight different evaluation modules to be used with more than 800 faculty and administrators in Brazilian universities.

Sullivan recognized

Virginia Sullivan, biology department secretary at the U-M-Flint, received the Margaret Rogers Award for Excellence for her outstanding performance as a staff member of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS).

The award, established in 1994, recognizes CAS employees with exemplary levels of performance and professionalism.

Medical School faculty honored

N. Reed Dunnick, the Fred Jenner Hodges Professor, chair and professor of radiology, has been named president of the Society of Chairmen of Academic Radiology Departments. James V. Neel, the Lee R. Rice Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Human Genetics and professor emeritus of internal medicine, has received the 1998 March of Dimes/Colonel Harland Sanders Award for lifetime achievement in the field of genetic sciences.

Rosenthal, Chen honored

Marilynn Rosenthal, professor of sociology and director of the Program in Health Policy Studies; and Yubao Chen, associate professor of industrial and systems manufacturing engineering, each received a Distinguished Faculty Research Award from U-M-Dearborn.

Rosenthal's research focuses on medical regulation, physician supply, Swedish health policy and comparative health-care systems. According to the nominators, Rosenthal's "comparative perspective on health care in China, Europe and North America is in the greatest traditions of the social sciences; and the motivation of her work--essentially to improve the quality of human health care--is in the greatest humanistic tradition.

Chen conducts research on precision machining focused on developing intelligent-systems technology for product design and manufacturing process control. "Since joining the U-M-Dearborn in 1988, Chen has been the best researcher in the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering," said his nominator.

The faculty research award is given annually to a "full-time faculty member who consistently publishes important works that enlarge the scope of human knowledge or that are acclaimed great creative works."

Stockton receives service award

Ronald Stockton, professor of political science at U-M-Dearborn, received the Distinguished Service Award for his "contributions to the community including his service as chair of the Kerr Scholars Program, a participant in the Detroit Roundtable, a fellow of the Jewish-Christian-Muslim Trialogue and speaker for the Michigan Humanities Council. He is a valued participant in organizations that actively work to mediate group conflict, and his passionate commitment to social justice enhances his reputation."

The faculty service award is given annually to "faculty members who apply their professional expertise to benefit the public, and whose work increases the visibility or enhances the reputation of U-M-Dearborn."

Romatowki honored by Association of Educators

Jane Romatowki, professor and associate dean of the School of Education at U-M-Dearborn, received the Distinguished Student Adviser Award for her role as adviser to the Association of Educators. Students who nominated Romatowski called her the "main supporter of the organization."

Weinreich publishes Geometrical Vectors

Geometrical Vectors by Gabriel Weinreich, professor emeritus of physics, has been published by the University of Chicago Press. Weinreich joined the faculty in 1960.

Ji receives Sloan research fellowship

Lizhen Ji, assistant professor of mathematics, has been selected to receive a Sloan research fellowship. Ji was selected from more than 400 applicants and will receive a grant of $35,000. Twenty-three former Sloan fellows have received Nobel prizes and hundreds have received other prestigious awards and honors.