The University Record, October 1, 1997

20 faculty to receive awards Oct. 13

Editor's Note: See photos of the award-winners and the text of their citations at

By Jane R. Elgass

Twenty faculty members will be recognized for their teaching, scholarship, service and creative activities at a dinner Oct. 13. Each of the annual awards carries a $1,000 stipend, except the Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, which has a $1,500 stipend.

Alton L. Becker, professor emeritus of linguistics, will receive the University Press Book Award, established in 1965 and presented to a faculty member whose book, published by the U-M Press, has added the greatest distinction to the Press's list. The selection is made from books published within a span of two years. Becker is being honored for Beyond Translation: Toward a Modern Philology, Essays by A. L. Becker.

Edward M. Gramlich, professor of public policy and of economics and public policy, will receive the Regents' Award for Distinguished Public Service, which recognizes public service activities that relate closely to teaching and research and reflect professional and academic expertise. This award was established by the Regents in 1990, following a recommendation by the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs.

Beth Glover Reed, associate professor of social work and of women's studies, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, which recognizes faculty governance participation over a period of several years, with an emphasis on Universitywide service.

Robert Frisancho, professor of anthropology and research scientist, Center for Human Growth and Development; Christopher Peterson, professor of psychology; and Theresa Tinkle, associate professor of English and academic program director, Department of English, will receive the Amoco Faculty Teaching Award, recognizing excellence in undergraduate education.

Among the criteria considered for the award are the array of courses taught, the development of new courses or revitalization of existing courses, and the strength of the faculty member's advising and mentoring skills related to undergraduate teaching.

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards will be presented to Jacquelynne S. Eccles, professor of psychology, of women's studies and of education and research scientist, Research Center for Group Dynamics; Thomas D. Gelehrter, professor of human genetics and of internal medicine and chair, Department of Human Genetics; Philip D. Gingerich, director and curator, Museum of Paleontology, and professor of geological sciences, of biological sciences and of anthropology; Rowena G. Matthews, the G. Robert Greenberg Distinguished University Professor of Biological Chemistry and chair and research scientist, Biophysics Research Division; and Roy A. Rappaport, the Mary Ann and Charles L. Walgreen Jr. Professor for the Study of Human Understanding and director, Program on Studies in Religion.

This award recognizes extraordinary achievements in teaching, scholarly research or creative endeavors, service, and other activities that have brought distinction to the University.

Faculty Recognition Awards will go to Mary L. Brake, associate professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences; Simon E. Gikandi, professor of English; Colleen M. Seifert, associate professor of psychology; Dennis J. Thiele, professor of biological chemistry; and David R. Williams, associate professor of sociology and associate research scientist, Survey Research Center.

Recipients of this award have made substantive contributions to the University through significant achievements in research and other scholarly activities; demonstrated excellence in teaching, advising and mentoring; and participated in service activities.

Steven K. Fisher, professor of pharmacology and research scientist, Mental Health Research Institute, and Vasantha Padmanabhan, research scientist, pediatrics and communicable diseases and Reproductive Sciences Program, will receive the Research Scientist Recognition Award. This award recognizes exceptional scholarly promise in the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge or the development of innovative technology or the development of concepts that lead to significant advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities.

Amiya K. Hajra, professor of biological chemistry and research scientist, Mental Health Research Institute; and Donald M. Umstadter, associate research scientist, electrical engineering and computer science, and adjunct assistant professor of nuclear engineering and radiological science, will receive the Research Scientist Achievement Award.

This award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements in the same areas as the Research Scientist Recognition Award.