The University Record, April 19, 1999


Japanese Studies awards twelve grant recipients

Hugh de Ferranti, Alan B. Howes, Paul Huth, Ken Ito, James S. Jackson, Shin-Ying Lee, Hiromi Ono, Kiyoshi Sano, Michael Fetters, Takeshi Takahara, Mark D. West and Mieko Yoshihama have been awarded grants by the Center for Japanese Studies. Recipient and project titles are:

de Ferranti, assistant professor of music, "Biwa Music in the Twentieth Century: The Lives of Fumon Yoshinori and Yamashika Yoshiyuki"; Howes, professor of English, "Critical Reception of Films of Akira Kurosawa"; Huth, associate professor of political science, "Domestic Political Conflict and Japanese Security Policy, 1870-1941"; Ito, associate professor of Asian languages and cultures, "Narrating the Family in Late-Meiji Japan";

Jackson, Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology, professor of psychology, director of Research Center for Group Dynamics, and professor of health behavior and health education, "Inter-Group Relations Among Japanese and Ethnic Minorities"; Lee, associate research scientist, Center for Human Growth and Development, "Japanese Teachers' Manuals for Elementary School Mathematics";

Ono, assistant research scientist, Survey Research Center, "Intra-marital Financial Arrangements in Contemporary Japan"; Sano, clinical instructor of family medicine, and Fetters, assistant professor of family medicine, "Nagoya University-University of Michigan Family Medicine Exchange Program";

Takahara, professor of art and design, "Kiso Sansen and Wajyu"; West, assistant professor of law, "The Political Economy of Corporate Code Development in Japan and the United States"; and Yoshihama, assistant professor of social work, "WHO Multi-Country Study of Domestic Violence and Women's Health-Japan."

Four receive Coca Cola Foundation grants

Four faculty have been honored for their efforts as sponsors of undergraduate student research partners in the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program. Each will receive $10,000 a year for five years, through support by the Coca Cola Foundation and matching funds from LS&A. The awards can be used for student/faculty research-related travel, summer research activities and purchase of computers and software for use in the research project.

Those recognized are:

Katarina Borer, professor of kinesiology, who has worked with more than 60 students through UROP and the Division of Kinesiology's undergraduate research program. The students have co-authored papers, given presentations at national meetings and received summer funding from the National Institutes of Health.

Jason Daida, adjunct assistant professor of atmospheric, oceanic and space sciences, and assistant research scientist, Space Physics Research Lab, has seen 70 percent of the students he's worked with go on to graduate school and two have received National Science Foundation Doctoral Fellowships.

Margaret Dewar, director of academic programs, CAUP, and professor, architecture and urban planning, has worked with UROP students since 1992. She and her students currently are evaluating the effect of funding from the Clinton administration for an empowerment zone in Detroit, particularly as it relates to employers' decisions and the existence of labor markets in low-income neighborhoods.

Theresa Lee, associate professor of psychology and associate research scientist, the Reproductive Sciences Program, has mentored almost 30 students. Her research focuses on circadian rhythms, to create a better understanding of the effect on humans of such phenomena as jet lag and seasonal changes.