The University Record, April 26, 1999


Engineering faculty, GSIs honored

Four student organizations--American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) student chapter, Society of Minority Engineering Students (SMES), Society of Women Engineers (SWE), and Tau Beta Pi (TBP)--recently presented awards recognizing outstanding teaching in the College of Engineering.

Graduate student instructors (GSIs) Gary Brouhard, Scott Gayton Liter, Pom Malakul, Dan Osborne and Murat Ulasir received the ASEE Outstanding Student Instructor Award. Honorable mentions were presented to Scott Anderson, Larry Lemke and Manish Sharma. The five main winners received $500 awards and all eight received a one-year membership in ASEE.

SWE and SMES jointly presented Creating a Better Classroom Climate Awards to Yili Liu, associate professor of industrial and operations engineering, and graduate student instructor Michael Dibattista.

Ken Powell, associate professor of aerospace engineering, received TBP's Outstanding Professor Award. Honorable mentions went to Arthur Kuo, assistant professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics; Fawwaz Ulaby, professor of electrical engineering and computer science; John Laird, professor of electrical engineering and computer science; Karl Majeske, adjunct assistant professor of industrial and operations engineering; Kevin Collins, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering; and Ravinder Venugopal, postdoctoral fellow, aerospace engineering.

The TBP Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award was presented to Scott Anderson and Richard Cheung. Honorable mentions went to Joe Dertouzous, Jason Kuo and Ron Reano.

CAUP faculty receive national awards

College of Architecture and Urban Planning (CAUP) faculty members Annette LeCuyer, professor of architecture, and J. Yolande Daniels, assistant professor of architecture, recently received awards from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA).

LeCuyer received one of two ACSA/AIAS (American Institute of Architecture Students) New Faculty Teaching Awards. Based on a peer-reviewed portfolio and reference letters from colleagues and students, the award noted her "skill as a teacher is remarkable. Her integrative teaching of design, theory and construction help to dissolve the barriers so often present within the academy."

Daniels, along with collaborator Sunil Bald of Cornell University, received one of four Design Awards for the "Flip-Flop Store/Apartment Conversion," which explores and poses solutions for the "often insecure existence of the urban dweller." The Flip-Flop is an apartment that unpacks itself each day and can be readily relocated to another dwelling.

Berardi honored by Pharmacy

Rosemary R. Berardi, professor of pharmacy, recently received the College of Pharmacy's first Teaching Excellence Award.

"There were 10 highly qualified candidates for the award, which made the decision process both easy and difficult," said Barry Bleske, associate professor of pharmacy and chair of the ad hoc committee that made the selection. "Dr. Berardi excelled in all areas. She has been, and remains, a very effective teacher, who uses whatever means necessary to motivate students to perform at their highest levels. She provides help and support and inspires self-learning. Students respect her integrity and her commitment to them as individuals."

Berardi is nationally recognized for continuing significant contributions to the specialty of gastroenteric drug therapy, spanning nearly three decades.