The University Record, February 8, 1999

Carter-Su, Stewart to receive Sarah Goddard Power Award

By Rebecca A. Doyle

Abigail J. Stewart, professor of psychology and of women’s studies and director of the Institute for Research on Women and Gender, and Christin Carter-Su, professor of physiology and associate director of the Michigan Diabetes Research and Training Center, will receive the 1999 Sarah Goddard Power Award.

The awards will be presented by Regent Rebecca McGowan in an open ceremony beginning at 3:30 p.m. Feb. 17 in the Hussey Room, Michigan League.

Sponsored by the Academic Women’s Caucus, the award honors “the accomplishments of members of the University community who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, scholarship and sustained service on behalf of women.”

Stewart has been at the University since 1987 and “has devoted herself to serving and promoting women and to speaking out on women’s issues,” according to the citation that will be read at the ceremony. “She is a tireless advocate for women. The research programs and fellowships she creates provide new opportunities to learn and to explore further the unique qualities of women.

“She exhibits incredible dedication to the process of helping women with research, careers, personal growth, problems and goals. She creates collaborations, provides networks, fosters opportunities and offers support endlessly.”

Carter-Su joined the U-M in 1981 as assistant professor of physiology and became associate professor in 1987. She became professor of physiology in 1992 and was named associate director of the Michigan Diabetes Research and Training Center in 1997.

Carter-Su is “a leader, a scholar and a teacher in her field, and a mentor and an advocate for women, particularly at the University of Michigan Medical Center,” noted her supporters.

“Her mentoring of women is enhanced by her advocacy on their behalf. She encourages, supports and promotes women to committees, symposia and other prominent activities in the University and her field.

“She helps women with finding everything from a tenure-track job to day care. Her strength and high standards, coupled with her helpful approach, enable women to carry on their careers and family lives.”

In 1984, an Awards Committee was established to select the first recipients of the Academic Women’s Caucus Awards. In 1988, the award was renamed the Sarah Goddard Power Award in honor of the former Regent, who was a strong advocate for women within the University community.