The University Record, February 8, 1999

Faculty selected for Michigan Road Scholars tour

From the State Outreach Office

An Advisory Committee headed by Graduate School Dean Earl Lewis has selected 31 faculty to participate in a five-day traveling seminar on the “State of Michigan,” May 3–7.

“Michigan Road Scholars” will expose participants to the state’s economy, government and politics, culture, educational systems, health and social issues, history and geography. Designed to increase mutual knowledge and understanding between the University and the people and communities of the state, the tour will introduce participants to the places the majority of our students call home, encourage University service to the public, and suggest ways faculty can help address state issues through research, scholarship and creative activity. In addition, the experience is expected to develop beneficial ties and promote interdisciplinary discussion among the touring faculty.

The tour will have faculty participating from 13 schools and colleges on the Ann Arbor campus, and one representative each from the Flint and Dearborn campuses.

Participants and their unit affiliations include:

J. Yolande Daniels and Jason T. Young, architecture and urban planning; Dennis Miller, art and design; Joan McGowan, dentistry; Henry Meares, education; Tony England, Rodney Ewing and Rachel Goldman, engineering; Paul Resnick, information; David Scobey, law;

George Cooper, Lincoln Faller and David Porter, English; Sidonie Smith, English and women’s studies; David Caron, French; Youxue Zhang, geological sciences; Alejandro Herrero-Olaizola, Spanish; Martha Aliaga, statistics;

William Farrand, geological sciences and Exhibit Museum; Charles Bright, Residential College; David Musch and Jill Macoska, medicine; Nancy Reame and Deborah Walker, nursing; Frank Ascione and George Kenyon, pharmacy;

Sherman James and Marc Zimmerman, public health; Kathleen Faller, social work; Paul Fossum, U-M-Dearborn, education; Madhukar Angur, U-M-Flint, management.

Provost Nancy Cantor has funded the tour as a two-year pilot program, with support from the State Outreach Office.

Advisory committee members are:

Robert Beckley, professor of architecture and urban planning; Toby Citrin, director, Office of Community-Based Public Health, School of Public Health; Julie Ellison, professor of English and associate vice president for Research; Steven Goldstein, interim associate dean for research and graduate studies, Medical School; William Martin, associate dean and director of academic programs, College of Engineering; Terry McDonald, associate dean, LS&A academic affairs; Christina Whitman, associate dean for academic affairs, Law School; Lew Morrissey, director, State Outreach Office; and Susan Froelich, associate director, State Outreach Office. Froelich also is project coordinator for the tour.

Questions about the Michigan Road Scholars program should be directed to Froelich, or 764-8029, or to Morrissey, 764-9256. Information about the tour is on the Web at