The University Record, January 18, 1999


UMTRI researchers recognized

Researchers Jay Baron, Pat Hammet and Karl Majeske of the Office for the Studies in Automotive Transportation at the U-M Transportation Research Institute (UMTRI) were presented the P.K. McElroy Award for best paper at the 1998 Reliability and Maintainability Symposium.

“Functional Build: Integrating automotive body-design and process-development” recommends a fundamental change in which manufacturers test the capability of components within a complex assembly during the process validation phase of product development. Better final decisions are made using this methodology because the prototype is a more accurate reflection of what the production process is capable of producing.

The annual symposium is sponsored by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering and is one of the most highly respected conferences on product quality and integrity.

Carter-Su and Stewart to receive Sarah Goddard Power Award

Cristin Carter-Su, professor of physiology and associate director and chief of the Biomedical Research Division, and Abigail Stewart, professor of psychology and of women’s studies, and director of the Institute for Research on Women and Gender, will receive the 15th annual Sarah Goddard Power Award for leadership, scholarship and sustained service on behalf of women. It honors the late Regent Emerita Sarah Goddard Power, who was a particularly strong advocate for women.

The award ceremony begins at 4 p.m. Feb. 17 in the Hussey Room, Michigan League. For more information, contact Sally Grace, 764-5188 or e-mail

Six staff honored at Business School

Last month, six support staff members were honored for their efforts at the Business School’s Staff Recognition Ceremony. Honorees were: Cindy Cantrell, student services assistant; A.J. Dziak, administrative assistant; Beverly McKinney, financial clerk; Robert Sandifer, office assistant; Sam Swaminathan, senior research associate; and Niki Vick, administrative associate.

Berridge, Burnham and Meshnick named Fulbright Scholars

The Fulbright Program, sponsored and funded by the United States Information Agency, has named three faculty members Fulbright Scholars.

Kent C. Berridge, professor of psychology, is researching “Core Processes of Emotion in the Brain” at the European Institute for Taste and Indigestion Studies (France).

Robyn J. Burnham, associate professor of biology and of geology and associate curator, Museum of Paleontology, is lecturing on and researching “Ecological Habitat Preferences and Distribution of Lianas in Yasuni National Park” at San Francisco University (Ecuador).

Steven R. Meshnick, professor of epidemiology, is researching “Modeling the Emergence of Drug-Resistant Malaria” at the University of Oxford (United Kingdom).

All Fulbright applications undergo a rigorous peer review administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars. The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board formulates policy guidelines and makes the final selection of all grantees.

Hogikyan named ACS fellow

Norman Hogikyan, assistant professor of otolaryngology, has been named a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons (ACS).

Hogikyan, director of the U-M Vocal Health Center in Livonia, has a strong interest in voice disorders and surgery of the larynx.

The American College of Surgeons is the largest organization of surgeons in the world. Fellows of the college earn the right to use the designation F.A.C.S. after their names.

You can always drop us a line: