The University Record, March 29, 1999


8 receive IRWG awards for scholarly activities

Elaine Gazda, Sherrie Kossoudji, Joanne Leonard, Ramaswami Mahalingam, Regina Morantz-Sanchez, Ann Stoler, Susie Tharu and Mieko Yoshihama received awards from the Institute for Research on Women and Gender (IRWG) for their scholarly activities on women and gender. Awards ranged from $2,500 to $10,000.

Applications were reviewed by an interdisciplinary committee according to the following: quality and significance of proposed scholarly or creative activity; centrality of research; inclusion of appropriate attention to issues of race/ethnicity, sexuality, culture, nationality; project value to faculty or student development; and project contribution to the study of women at gender.

Gazda, professor of classical art and archaeology and curator of the Kelsey Museum, received an award for "Women and the Cult of Bacchus in Roman Italy: The Villa of the Mysteries at Pompeii Revisited."

Kossoudji, associate professor of social work and adjunct assistant professor of economics, received an award for "Why Didn't Legalization Matter for Women? An Investigation into the Gender Differences in the Impact of IRCA on the Economic Mobility of Formerly Unauthorized Workers."

Leonard, professor of art and design and of women's studies, received an award for "Imagining Emigration: The Album and the Letters."

Mahalingam, assistant professor of psychology, received an award for "Essentialism, Power and Folk Theories about Gender among Tamils: A Developmental Study."

Morantz-Sanchez, professor of history, received an award for "The Making of the American Jewish Middle Class."

Stoler, professor of anthropology and of women's studies, received an award for "The Gender Politics of the French Radical Right: Assessing Where Women Stand in a Moment of Crisis."

Tharu, visiting professor of English and of women's studies, received an award for "Gender, Citizenship and the Law in Postcolonial Indian Society."

Yoshihama, assistant professor of social work, received an award for "An International Study of Women's Health and Domestic Violence--Japan: The Prevalence, Risk and Protective Factors, and Health Consequences."

Brooks receives OTOD award

Sharon Brooks, professor of oral medicine, oral pathology and oncology, has received the Distinguished Faculty Award from the Organization of Teachers of Oral Diagnosis (OTOD).

OTOD is composed of dental school faculty devoted to teaching oral medicine, diagnosis and radiology. The award recognizes a member for his or her outstanding contributions to dental education. Brooks is the third U-M faculty member to receive the award.

Knoll elected to National Academy of Engineering

Glenn F. Knoll, professor of nuclear engineering and of radiological sciences, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to NAE is one of the highest honors accorded an engineer, recognizing those engineers who have made significant contributions to engineering theory and who have pioneered new and developing fields of technology.

Knoll was cited for his contributions and technical leadership in the field of ionizing radiation detection and measurement.

Williams' Shure House selected in design competition

The Shure House, designed by Betsy A. Williams, visiting assistant professor of architecture and urban planning, has received a premier award in the design competition organized by Metropolitan Homes, which published the project in its January issue.