The University Record, November 16, 1998


Stern’s paper wins $10,000 first prize

“Labor Standards and International Trade” written by Robert Stern, professor of public policy and economics, has won the first prize of $10,000 from Instituto Para La Integracion de America Laitina y El Caribe (INTAL). Stern’s paper and three others on the topic of “Labor Standards and Income Distribution and Their Relation to Trade” will be published in English and Spanish in the INTAL journal, Integration and Trade, in May/June 1999.

E. Nabel and G. Nabel elected to Institute of Medicine

Elizabeth G. Nabel, professor of internal medicine and of physiology, and chief, Division of Cardiology; and Gary J. Nabel, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Henry Sewall Professor of Internal Medicine and professor of biological chemistry, were elected to the Institute of Medicine. Current active members of the Institute elect new members from candidates chosen for their contributions to health, medicine or related fields. With their election, members are committed to engage in a broad range of studies on health policy issues and to participate on volunteer committees.

Hass’ book explores Vietnam War’s cultural legacy

A bottle of Jack Daniels, a ring with letter, a Purple Heart and Bronze Star, a baseball, a photo album, an ace of spades and a pie were some of the items left at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, D.C., on one day.

Kristin Ann Hass, a lecturer in the Program in American Culture, explores the cultural legacy of the Vietnam War and the evolution of American forms of memorialization in Carried to the Wall: American Memory and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial (University of California Press).

For Hass, the eclectic sampling of items left at “The Wall” represents an attempt by ordinary Americans to come to terms with a multitude of unnamed losses as well as to take part in the ongoing debate of how the war should be remembered.

Four faculty honored with ‘Traditions of Leadership’ awards

Karen K. Milner, clinical instructor in psychiatry; Norah N. Naughton, clinical assistant professor of anesthesiology; Helen A. Pass, assistant professor of surgery; and Pamela G. Rockwell, clinical instructor in family medicine, have received Traditions of Leadership awards. Jayne Thorson, assistant dean for faculty affairs and director, Office of Faculty and Staff Resources at the Medical School, presented the awards with support from the U-M Alumnae Council. The recipients were selected out of the Association of American Medical Colleges Junior Faculty Women Career Development Seminar participants for their leadership. The award will help to offset the expenses of the seminar.

Payne honored with Hartman award

Anita H. Payne, professor emeritus of biological chemistry, received the Carl G. Hartman award from the Society for the Study of Reproduction. The award, named for a distinguished reproductive biologist, is the Society’s highest honor.

Payne was honored for lifelong scholarly contributions to reproductive biology, her dedicated and generous contributions to the Society and her exceptional role as adviser and mentor to students and postdoctoral fellows. Payne’s research and contributions to reproductive endocrinology while at the University led the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology to endow a lectureship in her name. She has continued her research as a senior research scientist in the Division of Reproductive Biology at Stanford University.


You can always drop us a line: