The University Record, October 14, 1998

16 faculty to be honored this evening

By Jane R. Elgass

Sixteen faculty members will be recognized for their teaching, scholarship, service and creative activities at a dinner this evening (Oct. 14). Three of the awards---Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, Distinguished Faculty Governance Award and Research Scientist Achievement Award---carry $1,500 stipends. The others carry $1,000 stipends.

Amoco Foundation Faculty Teaching Awards, which recognize excellence in undergraduate education, will go to Betty Louise Bell, assistant professor of English, and Gabriel M. Rebeiz, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science.

Among the criteria for the award are the array of courses taught, the development of new courses or revitalization of existing courses, and the strength of the faculty member’s advising and mentoring skills related to undergraduate teaching.

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, which recognize extraordinary achievements in teaching, scholarly research or creative endeavors, will go to four faculty: John A. Faulkner, professor of physiology; Anne Ruggles Gere, professor of English and of education; Michael D. Morris, professor of chemistry; and Arlene W. Saxonhouse, professor of political science and of women’s studies.

Three faculty will receive Faculty Recognition Awards: Philip Andrews, professor of biological chemistry; Nancy Burns, associate professor of political science; Jill B. Becker, professor of psychology; and Stephen H. Sumida, associate professor of English.

Recipients of this award have made substantive contributions to the University through significant achievements in research and other scholarly activities; demonstrated excellence in teaching, advising and mentoring; and participated in service activities.

Thomas E. Moore, professor of biology and curator of insects, Museum of Zoology, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, which recognizes faculty governance participation over a period of several years, with an emphasis on Universitywide service.

Lloyd D. Johnston, senior research scientist at the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, will receive the Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service. The award recognizes public service activities that relate closely to teaching and research and reflect professional and academic expertise.

Richard Bailey, professor of English, will receive the University Press Book Award, presented to a faculty member whose book, published by the U-M Press, has added the greatest distinction to the Press’s list. The selection is made from books published within a span of two years. Bailey is being honored for Nineteenth-Century English.

Two faculty members will receive the Research Scientist Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional scholarly promise in the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge or the development of innovative technology or the development of concepts that lead to significant advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities.

They are John T. Clarke, research scientist, Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences, and Cynthia Luz Marcelo, senior associate research scientist, plastic and reconstructive surgery.

The Research Scientist Recognition Award will go to Mark D. Burrage, associate research scientist in the Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences.

This award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements in the same areas as the Research Scientist Recognition Award.

Click here for photos and citations.

You can always drop us a line: