The University Record, September 9, 1998


Five faculty receive Center for Japanese Studies grants

The Center for Japanese Studies has awarded five faculty members grants ranging from $500-$10,000 to support research on Japan. The recipients submitted proposals to the Center for Japanese Studies for the annual awards. This year's grants went to William Malm, professor emeritus of music, for "Japan Music and Musical Instruments"; Gayl Ness, professor emeritus of sociology, for "Managing Urban Population Environment Dynamics in Kobe, Japan"; Abé Markus Nornes, assistant professor of film and video and of Asian languages and cultures, for "Forest of Pressure, Ogawa Shinsude and the 'Subject' of Documentary"; Jonathon Reynolds, assistant professor of history of art and of architecture, for "Framing 'Tradition': "Watanabe Yoshio and the Photographic Representation of Ise Shrine"; and Mieko Yoshihama, assistant professor of social work, for "Focus Groups on Domestic Violence in Japan."


Guan receives Shering-Plough Award

Kun-Liang Guan, associate professor of biological chemistry, has been awarded the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Shering-Plough Award. This award goes to one young investigator every other year.


Adelman elected to AMA board

Susan Hershberg Adelman, clinical associate professor of surgery, has been elected to the American Medical Association (AMA) board of trustees. The first woman president of the Michigan State and Wayne County medical societies, she has served on the AMA Council on Medical Service and Intracouncil Task Force on Medicaid, and chaired the AMA Surgical Caucus. Adelman represented the AMA on the White House Health Professionals Review Group in 1993.


Alfred honored by NCRP

Richard Alfred, assistant professor of education, received the 1998 Special Achievement Award from the National Council on Research and Planning (NCRP). This award is given in recognition of "thought-provoking publications and presentations that promote research, planning and institutional effectiveness in community colleges."


Eight U-M-Dearborn faculty inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

The newly established chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society for individuals in business schools accredited by the Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business, inducted eight U-M-Dearborn faculty members. They are: Brian Green, assistant professor of accounting; Thomas Callahan, associate professor of business; Yu-Min Chou, professor of business economics and finance; John A. Helmuth, associate professor of finance and chair, Department of Accounting and Finance; Thomas Lyons, professor of business administration; Barbara Murray, associate professor of business economics and finance; Victor Streeter, professor emeritus of civil engineering; and Gary R. Waissi, chair, Department of Management and associate professor of management science.


Borenstein wins 1998 Discover Award, Nguyen a finalist

Johann Borenstein, inventor of a robotic walking stick for the blind and associate research scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has won the 1998 Discover Award for Technological Innovation. Borenstein hopes his GuideCane "will soon become an invaluable navigation aid for the many visually impaired people in this country." The GuideCane, which runs on batteries and has sonar navigation, is less expensive than a guide dog and has more features than a traditional white cane.

Clark Nguyen, assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science, was a finalist for a Discover Award in the category of computer hardware and electronics for his work on a miniature resonator for wireless communication.

You can always drop us a line: