The University Record, April 3, 2000


Craniofacial Anomalies Program honored by MSHA

The Department of Speech-Language Pathology’s Craniofacial Anomalies Program has received the Michigan Speech Hearing Association’s (MSHA) first Clinical Service Award. Mary Berger and Dale Van Deinse, pathologists, and Pamella McMillan and Tom O’Connor, audiologists, were recognized at the March 17 MSHA Annual Conference. The program underwent a rigorous review process, including a committee site visit, observation of clinical service and review of quality improvement materials, before it was chosen for the award.

The pathologists and audiologists who work with children in the Craniofacial Anomalies Program provide high technology evaluation, treatment techniques, patient care and customer service.

Reynolds elected president of MPRN

Donovan Reynolds, director of broadcasting, was elected president of the Michigan Public Radio Network (MPRN), a membership organization composed of the state’s 17 public radio stations, at the group’s annual board meeting March 1.

Reynolds, who supervises WUOM, WFUM and WVGR, was executive director of MPRN for 12 years before coming to the U-M in 1996. Among its activities, MPRN funds a state capital reporting service and serves as a clearinghouse for news reports and feature stories prepared by local stations.

Bain selected as a Carnegie Scholar

Robert Bain, assistant professor of education, has been selected as a Carnegie Scholar in the Pew National Fellowship Program, a part of the Carnegie Academy for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

Bain, one of 40 individuals chosen to participate in this year’s program on the scholarship of teaching and learning, will receive a $6,000 stipend and summer on-site residence with the Carnegie Foundation. Scholars are chosen on the basis of their work and a project proposal that “subscribe to the guiding principles that the work should be public, susceptible to critical review and evaluation, and accessible for exchange and use by other members of one’s scholarly community.”

Potts earns state teaching award

Richard A. Potts, professor of chemistry, U-M-Dearborn, was recognized as “Teacher of the Year” by the Michigan Science Teachers Association at a March 3 ceremony.

As a member of the American Chemical Society, Potts works with high school chemistry teachers to keep their teaching current. He also is active in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Scientific Glassblowing Society and the U.S. National Chemistry Olympiad.

Reed receives Myers Award

Matthew P. Reed, assistant research scientist, U-M Transportation Research Institute (UMTRI), recently received the 1999 Myers Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers Inc. (SAE) for his technical paper “Automobile Occupant Posture Prediction for Use with Human Model.” Reed shares the award with co-authors and UMTRI colleagues Miriam A. Manary, senior research associate; Carol A.C. Flannagan, assistant research scientist; and Lawrence W. Schneider, senior research scientist.

Reed received a crystal award and $3,000 at the SAE Honors Convocation and Luncheon. The Myers Award recognizes the best technical paper presented by a student at a major SAE meeting. Reed wrote the article as part of his doctoral research.