The University Record, December 20, 1999


Schembechler named ‘Distinguished American of the Year’

Glenn E. “Bo” Schembechler, former head football coach, was named the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s “Distinguished American of the Year” for 1999.

“Coach Schembechler’s dedication to team play and his demand that his players perform in class as well as on the field subscribe to the ideals set forth by Walter Camp, who is recognized as ‘The Father of American Football,’” said Stanley W. Konesky Jr., president of the Walter Camp Foundation.

Schembechler, who was the Walter Camp “Coach of the Year” in 1969, served as Michigan’s athletic director for two years after stepping down as head coach. He had the most wins of any U-M football coach.

U receives landscape design award

The American Society of Landscape Architects has awarded the University of Michigan campus a centennial medallion as part of the 100th anniversary of the Society. Within the state of Michigan, 20 outstanding examples of landscape architecture were cited. Three were associated with the University of Michigan—Central Campus, Nichols Arboretum and the Henry Ford-Fair Lane Estate gardens designed by Jens Jensen.

The medallion, presented to University Planner Fred Mayer in November, designates the three areas as national landmarks.

Donabedian receives distinguished service award

Avedis Donabedian, the Nathan Sanai Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Public Health, has received the Sedwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health from the American Public Health Association.

Donabedian was recognized for his research in quality assessment and monitoring of health services, epidemiology of patient needs, and the design of program benefits for the public and private sectors. His dedication to teaching and public service also was noted.

Donabedian has worked as a consultant to the Social Security Administration, the National Academy of Sciences and the Public Health Service.

Robertson honored with Kurt Weill Prize

Jennifer Robertson, professor of anthropology, recently received the 1999 Kurt Weill Prize for distinguished scholarship in 20th century music theater for her book Takarazuka: Sexual Politics and Popular Culture in Modern Japan. The book, based on more than a decade of fieldwork and archival research, explores how the all-female Takarazuka Revue, which was founded in 1913 as a novel counterpart to the all-male Kabuki theater, illuminates sexual politics, nationalism, imperialism, modernity and popular culture in 20th century Japan.

Takarazuka, which has been translated into Japanese and will be printed in German, also has received Honorable Mention and the Barnard Hewitt Award for outstanding research in theater history from the American Society for Theatre Research, as well as the Ruth Benedict Prize from the American Anthropological Association.

The Kurt Weill Prize is awarded biennially by the Kurt Weill Foundation for Music, American Musicological Society, American Society for Theatre Research and Modern Language Association.

Kottak receives Mayfield Teaching Award

The American Anthropological Association (AAA) gave the 1999 Mayfield Prize to Conrad Kottak, professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology, at the AAA annual meeting in November for his contributions to the teaching of anthropology. Award criteria include impact on students, student evaluations and teaching awards.

Kottak has written two leading introductory anthropology texts and co-authored with some of his students a book on how to do anthropological research in America.

Kottak also guided the Task Force for Teaching Anthropology at AAA annual meetings, resulting in the publication of Teaching Anthropology: Problems, Issues and Decisions.

Branch appointed to national committee

Larry Branch, business manager, Recreational Sports Department, was re-appointed vice chair of the St. Louis Workshop Committee by the Central Association of College and University Business Officers (CACUBO).

CACUBO is a nonprofit association representing chief business officers at more than 700 institutions throughout the north central United States. Branch will assist CACUBO in providing professional and personal development for all levels of business and financial management in higher education.

Fancher selected as SAE Fellow

Paul Fancher, senior research scientist, U-M Transportation Research Institute, was one of 13 people selected as Fellows of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) for the year 2000. The award will be presented March 7 at the Society’s International Congress and Exposition Convocation luncheon.

The Fellow designation is given to “persons of exceptional professional distinction by reason of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications, experience and sustained accomplishment in mobility technology.”

Warner receives Distinguished Alumna Award

Patricia Warner, associate hospital director and administrator, C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital, received the 1999 School of Public Health Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Nov. 8 at the American Public Health Association annual meeting. The award recognizes alumni who have contributed outstanding service to the field of public health and to the School.

Skolimowski honored by eco-philosophy symposium

The Marshal of the Polish Parliament held a symposium to celebrate the 25th anniversary of eco-philosophy on Oct. 26 in Warsaw. Eco-philosophy was created and then developed by Henryk Skolimowski, professor emeritus of humanities.

More than 200 philosophers, ecologists and activists, as well as parliamentarians attended the event. Eco-philosophy, or ecological humanism, calls for the appropriation of man to nature and views man as being part of nature rather than having dominion over it. Skolimowski has published numerous books to outline the philosophical system, including Living Philosophy, Eco-Philosophy as a Tree of Life, A Sacred Place to Dwell, Living with Reverence Upon the Earth, and Eco Yoga, Practice and Meditations for Walking in Beauty on the Earth.