The University Record, February 21, 2000


McLilley named December Health System employee of the month

Valery G. McLilley, lead outpatient clerk, Briarwood Family Practice Center, was chosen as the Health System’s December Employee of the Month. McLilley was recognized for her “dedication, enthusiasm and patience” and was described as a “great asset to the department,” for which she has worked for 11 years.

Oberman recognized with Founders Award

Harold A. Oberman, professor of pathology, was given the Founders Award of the Michigan Association of Blood Banks at its annual meeting this fall.

Hecht honored by AHA

Gabrielle Hecht, associate professor of history, received the Herbert Baxter Adams Prize from the American Historical Association (AHA) at the group’s annual meeting in January. Eric Foner, AHA president-elect, noted that Hecht’s Radiance of France: Nuclear Power and National Identity after World War II is a work “distinguished both by its methodological clarity and sophistication and by the depth and resourcefulness of the research.”

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize annually recognizes an author’s first substantial book.

Jacobson elected AAAS Fellow

Harold K. Jacobson, the Jesse Siddal Reeves Professor of Political Science, and senior research scientist, Center for Political Studies, has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Jacobson was recognized for his work in political science and international studies and his contributions to understanding the human dimensions of global environmental change.

The Fellow distinction is awarded to members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Bass elected AMS president

Hyman Bass, professor of mathematics and of education, has been elected president of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), the largest organization of research mathematicians. He will serve as president-elect in 2000, president in 2001–02 and immediate past president in 2003.

Only two other U-M faculty members—T.H. Hildebrandt in 1945–46 and Raymond Wilder in 1955–56—have been elected AMS president.

Barquet participates in national program on Hispanic education

Norma Barquet, associate director, Programs for Educational Opportunity, School of Education, is among the first group of fellows selected to participate this year in the Policy Fellowship Program, sponsored by the Educational Testing Service and the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities. The Program is enlisting the aid of Hispanic scholars to study various aspects of higher education as it relates to the Hispanic population and then write policy papers suggesting strategies that will improve education for Hispanics.